Smoking Meat on my Off-Set Smoker

Last summer we purchased an off-set smoker. Of course it took me the whole summer to learn how to cook on my new smoker! The first time I fired up my smoker I realized this was a whole new way of cooking and something that was totally foreign to me. So I went on-line and starting looking for “Smoking Meat” websites. I found a ton of helpful websites some were more helpful than others. I asked lots of questions on a few of the websites. I soon realized everyone does things slightly different. Geez! my head was spinning from all the “helpful information.” The one thing I did know how to do was cook so putting spices together for my rubs was a no brainer. Learning how to control the temperature in my smoker was a whole new issue for me. I must say with all the helpful information and learning by trial and error, I managed to figure out my off-set smoker. Now I am “smoking up a storm” every chance I get. I fired up my smoker for the first time a couple of weeks ago. That was the first time I smoked some meat since Jerry passed away. It was a bitter-sweet day. I kept telling myself, “This is what Jerry would want you to do today Josie”. I will be posting my step-by-step instructions on smoking the meat featured in my photo gallery below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Smoking Meat

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Smoking Meat on my Off-Set Smoker”

  1. Norvella Barton
    May 7, 2014 at 3:07 am #

    Ok I think I’ve got it!

    • May 7, 2014 at 5:04 am #

      Great! Hey Norvella thanks for checking out my blog.

  2. May 9, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    Hi Josie! I wanted to stop by and say that your blog is looking great! I love the new changes!

    • May 9, 2014 at 11:18 pm #

      Thanks Tracey lots more changes to come. still trying to figure everything out lol. have a blessed weekend.

Leave a Reply

