My first Blog “Liebster Award”

1.What do you eat when you’re alone?
Popcorn and lots of it. I love air popcorn with lots of sweet butter and white cheddar cheese seasoning. A couple of weeks ago I ate a $635.00 bag of Nacho Cheese Doritos! That’s how much my dental bill will be for my wisdom tooth extraction. One evening while watching an HBO movie and eating a bag of Doritos, I broke my wisdom tooth off at the gum line. So Doritos are off of my list of things to eat when I am alone now and FOREVER…….ugh.

2.What are your top 3 blogging pet peeves?
Being as I am new to this blogging thing I really don’t have any blogging pet peeves YET. Tracy ask me that question in a couple of months maybe I will have all sorts of blogging pet peeves!

3.People always say that blogging takes “hard work and dedication”. Define what that means to you.
To me blogging is therapeutic. After my Jerry passed away on January 17, 2014, writing about him, our fun adventures and our short romantic trips always turned my sadness to warm feelings I wanted to keep close to my heart. I agree blogging does take some hard work and dedication because that’s what it takes to keep the viewers engaged enough to “FOLLOW” our blogs.

4.What do you feel is the most difficult part of blogging–the writing or the photography?
Neither are difficult. I love to write about the things I am passionate about. So writing is not that difficult for me because I am writing about something I know how to do well and I am passionate about cooking and teaching cooking. The photography is definitely an important part of blogging because it captures the interest of the viewers. In the case of a food blog, a food pic should jump off the page. Basically our food pics should make our readers salivate with excitement and say, “WOW….that looks amazing think I’ll try this one.” With that said, I think both are difficult and both are definitely needed.

5.What was the last thing you read that really blew your socks off?
I read 2 books by Joel Osteen in the last couple of months that I truly enjoyed; “I Declare” and “Break Out” both books were very inspirational reads. These days I am reading a ton of books on the “Grieving Process” and “Dealing with Grief” all good sources of information for me but I can honestly say they are NOT blowing my socks off. However, it is necessary reading for me right now.

6.What is your favorite movie and why?
“Men of Honor” is one of my favorite movies. I loved that movie because it was based on a true story about the first African American deep sea diver in the military at a time when blacks were really not accepted in that field of training in the military.

7.If you had to eat one thing every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?
My Smoked Pulled Pork Sandwiches piled high with savory coleslaw on my buttery homemade rolls.Pulled Pork 5-31-14

8.Sweet or savory?
I love to bake but I am not much of a sweet eater. I had a bakery in Houston, Texas many years ago and I started baking pastries at 3:00am every morning – 6 days a week. Maybe that’s why I am not much of a sweet eater! Give me anything SAVORY. I love a thick juicy bone-in rib eye steak topped with roasted chipolini onions and red wine sautéed baby portabella mushrooms, served with a crispy mixed green salad tossed in raspberry vinegarette dressing, and my homemade French bread slathered with my roasted garlic gourmet butter……oh yeah give me savory anytime!

9.If you had unlimited time to learn a skill, what would it be?
I would love to learn how to fly an airplane – maybe that would help me get over my fear of flying……..or not!

10.When you were in high school, which group or clique were you in?
I was always a very popular girl in high school because I was fun and outgoing and really thin! YUP, believe it or not I was super thin back in the day. So I was in the “really cute thin girls group” lol. Back in those days of Twiggy (that really super skinny model that wore 2 pairs of false eyelashes), all the really cute girls in my group wore two pairs of false eyelashes just like Twiggy with lots and lots of lipstick that was always two shade lighter than we were suppose to wear YIKES! Looking back at some of my high school pictures, I really looked ridiculous! And NO I won’t be posting any of those photos. They will remain in a place where nobody will see them………………ever!

11.Describe your blogging process.
I really like the blogging process. I love to go in my office/work shop with Sophie (aka “the beagle”), sit down at my computer and write about something that is interesting to me at that moment. After my Jerry passed away, my sleeping pattern changed drastically so I am usually up late at night. The middle of the night is when my creative juices really flow. I am currently writing a novel about my grieving process. I know that I am not the only woman out here that is grieving the loss of a loved one. I pray that my writings will be helpful to others that are going through a grieving process. Blogging gives me a forum where I can share my thoughts, sorrows and experience with others.

Categories: Something About Josie Roed

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “My first Blog “Liebster Award””

  1. June 30, 2014 at 4:02 am #

    Great post, Josie! I loved reading your answers and getting to know you better!

  2. Marshall Gillette
    July 1, 2014 at 2:58 am #

    Very interesting, humorous, and down to earth.

    Date: Mon, 30 Jun 2014 00:43:58 +0000 To: ratdaddyspike@live.com

  3. Jon Peterson
    July 3, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

    Congratulations on the award! I also read about the smoothie popsicles. Making popsicles (or anything) with my Mom or Grandma’s was always a favorite memory for me.

    Jon

    Date: Mon, 30 Jun 2014 00:44:00 +0000 To: vanimal1677@hotmail.com

    • July 3, 2014 at 8:50 pm #

      Yes making popsicles for my grandbabies is always a joy for me (and them) Thanks for stopping by Jon. Have a Happy 4th of July! Keep on the look-out for my next “Summer Buffet of Great Food” email. Warm Blessings, Josie (and Sophie aka the beagle!)

Leave a Reply

