How to save tomato paste and your $$’s

Whenever I find tomato paste on sale I stock up on it.  I would rather pay 49 cents per can than $5.00 for a tube of tomato paste. I know people like those over-priced tubes of tomato paste for the convenience. Personally I can’t make myself pay that much for a tube of tomato paste. How many times have you purchased a can of tomato paste, use some of it, put in your refrigerator and forget about it?  You find it months later in the back of the fridge – now it looks like a science project that went very bad! So now you have to throw it away. I have done this and it really ticks me off. I hate wasting my hard earned money by throwing away food.  Here’s my solution – freeze it! Here’s what I do; I scoop out 1 tablespoon of tomato paste, wrap each scoop in plastic wrap, store each in a marked Ziploc bag and freeze it!  No more throwing away tomato paste……….and money! I always have tomato paste in my freezer – ready to use.

tablespoon tomato paste-food blog wrapped tomato paste-food blog ziploc bag-food blogtomato paste in bag-food blog

Tags: ,

Categories: Freeze it!, Helpful Tips

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “How to save tomato paste and your $$’s”

  1. Raquel OQuinn
    August 17, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    Great tip!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • August 17, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

      thanks for stopping by niecey…hope all is well with you and your family. Be Blessed – Aunt Jo

  2. August 18, 2014 at 6:47 am #

    What a fantastic idea! I always find some scary tomato paste in the refrigerator! Why didn’t I think of this? Great post, Josie! 🙂

    • August 18, 2014 at 9:15 am #

      No more “scary tomato paste in your fridge” lol.
      thanks for stopping by.

  3. Elaine
    August 18, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    Excellent idea.

    • August 18, 2014 at 10:13 am #

      thanks – now stop throwing away tomato paste!

Leave a Reply

