How to save your fresh herbs

I have several rosemary plants outside my front door and, I’m growing lemon thyme on my patio.  All of my fresh herbs are growing excellent this year.  Here’s what I do to preserve some of my fresh herbs; I remove the herb leaves from the stems, measure about 2 teaspoons of herbs into each ice tray slot, fill the ice tray with bottled water, cover tightly with aluminum foil and freeze.  When the herb ice cubes are frozen, remove from the ice tray, place into marked Ziploc bags and store in the freezer.  I always have “herb ice cubes” in my freezer ready to add into whatever sauce I am preparing.  Try this…………freeze your herbs using chicken broth (preferably homemade) – really tasty!

DSCN5114 food blog view

DSCN5116 cropped food blog viewDSCN5119 food blog view

DSCN5634 food blog viewDSCN5635 food blog view

Tags:

Categories: Freeze it!, Helpful Tips

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “How to save your fresh herbs”

  1. Maria Thomas
    August 18, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

    Thank You Josie that is a wonderful idea!!!! Now I need you to teach me an easy way to
    Grow them in a small pot in my kitchen is that possible??????

    • August 18, 2014 at 10:40 pm #

      I tried growing my lemon thyme in my kitchen window and I had to put it out on the patio…….didn’t like those tiny bugs that loved my fresh thyme ;o(

  2. LVClaudia1@aol.com
    August 19, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    My friend, you are a genius! I love to grow basil and rosemary. Thank you for helping a country sister preserve her “crop.”

    • August 19, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

      You’re welcome “my country sista!” lol.

  3. August 27, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

    I need to do this in a big way this weekend! Have you tried freezing them in olive oil, by chance? I was thinking of doing it that way before I read your post.

    • August 28, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

      Hi Tracy – sorry for the delay in replying back to you. I have company here from out of town. No I haven’t tried freezing my herb in olive oil. whatever I’m cooking usually starts with olive oil. Try freezing with chicken broth…really tasty!

Leave a Reply

