Something that made me scratch my head!

I’m growing peppers in my inside garden.  Today I had to do a double take at one of my pepper plants.  This pepper plant have been producing all green peppers now for some unknown reason, it’s producing green and red peppers.  I’m not complaining – I’m just curious as to why this plant decided to change lol.  Checkout these pics and let me know what you think. The beagle loves my garden also lol….

  IMG_0333

IMG_0332

the beagle in the garden

Tags:

Categories: Josie's Garden

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Something that made me scratch my head!”

  1. LVClaudia1@aol.com
    August 20, 2014 at 10:49 am #

    My aunt is a fabulous gardener as was my mom. I asked about this very thing and both told me that green peppers are not quite ripe enough and if left on the vine / plant, they will eventually become red peppers. The flavor of the less mature green pepper is different then the mature red pepper. No doubt someone in the Jurassic Age was in a hurry to make Mexican Style Mastedon Casserole and opted to pick peppers a little early. Voila! A new flavor was discovered. LOL This is also the reason green peppers “repeat” on their victims..Uh, I mean the people who eat them and the red ones are not as interested in exacting their vengeance. Hope this helps. Sisterly, Claudia

    • August 20, 2014 at 11:17 am #

      lol Sis Claudia and thanks for your always entertaining info. You’re the best! Sista Josie

Leave a Reply

