Sunday Gourmet Cheeseburgers……

Yesterday I posted “Perfect Sunday with my Sister Friends.”  We really enjoyed our Happy Hour/Gourmet Cheeseburgers party.  Here’s how I made our delicious Gourmet Cheeseburgers.

I started off with 2 1/2 lb. chuck roast that I cut into small cubes and 4 thick slices of Applewood Bacon

IMG_0376

I used the meat grinding attachment on my Kitchen Aide mixer.  I added the chuck roast cubes then some on the Applewood Bacon alternating both until I finished grinding all the meat mixture.

IMG_0379

IMG_0380

This is what my meat mixture looked like after grinding.

IMG_0381

I added; a pinch of kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper and 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce.  I didn’t add any other spices because the Applewood Bacon imparted the most wonderful smoky flavor to my burgers.

IMG_0383

I formed 5 – 7 oz. burgers.  I had (1) 6oz burger leftover – that’s what I had for lunch today!  Notice the dimple I put in the center of all of my burgers?  This will keep my burgers from puffing up during the grilling process.  Most people do the wrong thing – they smash down the burgers with a spatula when they puff up. Bad, bad, bad don’t do that.  If you do that, all you’re doing is smashing out all of the wonderful  juices from your burger – thus leaving you with a very dry burger!

IMG_0385

I grilled my burgers about 2-3 minutes on each side.  After the cooking time, I transferred my burgers to a piece of aluminum foil on the cooler side of my grill.  I topped each burger with; sautéed baby Portobello mushrooms and diced red onions that I sautéed in butter with a generous splash of Sweet Marsala Wine (I didn’t take pics of that process sorry) and a slice of cheddar cheese.  I let my burgers stay on the grill (with the lid closed) long enough for the cheese to melt and get all gooey……..Time to eat girls!

IMG_0388

IMG_0423

This was my lunch today – the leftover burger from yesterday and it was off the charts good!

IMG_0425

Tags:

Categories: Family Meals

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Sunday Gourmet Cheeseburgers……”

  1. Elaine
    August 26, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

    OMG they look so good! Good thing we weren’t home or we would have been robbing you at fork point. Do you ever make cheese stuffed burgers?

    • August 26, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

      Yes I make stuffed burgers. Jerry loved it when I stuffed his with mushrooms and extra bacon. Next time we get together I will make them both ways.

    • August 26, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

      and please don’t rob me at “fork point” lol

Leave a Reply

