The End of A Perfect Weekend

This past week I was filled with so many emotions; happiness, sorrow and perfect peace.

I received a call from my big sister Pat last week.  I could tell from the tone of her voice that she was quite upset.  She said that one of sister friends had been rushed from Victorville to Las Vegas for emergency open heart surgery. She asked me if I would drop off a prayer blanket to the hospital for her friend and reach out to her friend’s family.  I said, “Sure Sis I would be happy to reach out to this family and help in any way.”  So I headed over to Sunrise Hospital with the intentions of only dropping off my sister’s gift.  I was greeted by a very cheerful nurse at the ICU desk. I explained to the nurse that I had a gift for my sister’s friend. The nurse looked at me, smiled and said, “Follow me and I will take you to that room.”  I walked into the room. I could see my sister’s friend laying there and she looked so peaceful.  I introduced myself to the two sisters that were sitting in the room.  I handed the prayer blanket to one of the sisters.  She said, “Why don’t you to put the prayer blanket over her.” I unfolded the prayer blanket and gently placed it on her.  As I was placing the blanket on her, I couldn’t help but notice that her toenails were beautifully painted with the same soft teal color that trimmed her prayer blanket.   I really had to fight back my tears.

I stood on one side of the bed and the sisters stood on the other side.  We held hands and prayed over Linda. I could hear the words coming out of my mouth.  At first I didn’t know where they were coming from. After a few seconds of praying, I knew GOD was giving me the right words to say. Some days GOD takes me to a hard place.  Today was one of those days and I made it through just like GOD said I would.

I knew what this family was going through.  I have been in this same hospital with Jerry (on that very same floor – ICU) on more occasions than I care to write about.  After a week long fight for her life Linda; a Mother, a Sister, a Grandmother and my sister’s longtime friend passed away a little after 8:00 pm on Friday.  My heart broke for Linda’s family Friday night.

I thank GOD I was able to fellowship and pray with Linda’s family last week.  At times it was very hard for me to talk about Jerry’s passing and my grieving process. I did find the strength to witness to this family.  I knew GOD had a plan for me last week. I am thankful and grateful HE gave me strength (and energy) to be able to help someone else through a sad moment in their lives. Having met this family, I feel so blessed to have had the opportunity to be of service to them.

This very long week ended with a awesome Saturday dinner and Sunday Brunch with family; my big sister Pat, my brother-in-law Gil, my beautiful niece Raquel, her husband Antwoine and Pat’s sister-in-law Vanessa.  This family gathering was all part of GOD’s plan!

Gill and Sis PatRaquel and AntwoineSis Vanessa

IMG_0428

A beautiful Las Vegas sunset……Thank You Lord for this day!

Tags:

Categories: Family Dinner Time

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

