September 11th……A day we will never forget

September 11th is a day in history we will never forget.  I’m sure you all remember exactly where you were and what you were doing thirteen years ago on September 11, 2001.  This day is another one of those days that is etched in my memory bank of things to remember.  Another date that is etched in my memory is September 11, 2007.  On this date my Mom, Evelyn L. Gillespie passed away.

Here’s a bit of history I would like to share with you.  We moved to a new community in Chula Vista, California in 1962.  Both of my parents became active members of our new community which lead to the formation of the Woodlawn Park Civic League and the development of a project known as the Woodlawn Park Community Center.  My Mom served as Project Director of the Woodlawn Park Community Center for 39 years.  For 32 of those years, she served as a Volunteer Director.  She was instrumental in formulating the goals and objectives of the Woodlawn Park Community Center, affectionately known as “the center” (to all of us who grew up in that community).  As the community grew, so did its literary needs so the creation of the Woodlawn Park Library was formed.  The Woodlawn Park Library became a part of the San Diego County Library System.  Years later, Woodlawn Park was annexed with the City of Chula Vista. After the annexation, the Woodlawn Park Library became part of Chula Vista Library System.

My Mom, Evelyn L Gillespie worked closely with city and county staff officials as a Community Leader, additionally, she found time to serve on several Boards and Commissions to include:

  • Elected to serve as a California Senior Legislator
  • Represented San Diego County at the State House Conference on Aging
  • San Diego County Flood Control District #1
  • County Service Areas #42 and #62
  • South County Council on Aging
  • San Diego Mayor’s Council on Youth Opportunity
  • Economic Opportunity Commission Board
  • Community Action Council of Otay & Woodlawn Park
  • Montgomery Civic Council – Board of Directors
  • Helped organized the first South Bay Food Co-op
  • Planned and organized weekly senior luncheons as well as holiday dinners.  I can remember helping my Mom serve some of these weekly luncheons on many occasions!

Evelyn L. Gillespie was also recognized for her amazing accomplishments such as:

  • Bottoman Civic Recognition Award from the City of Chula Vista in 1987
  • Channel 10’s Community Leadership Award in 1989
  • City of Chula Vista’s Humanitarian of the Year Award in 1989

My Mom was an amazing woman.  I give all thanks to GOD, my Mom and Dad for all that I am and all that I will be.  Thank you Mom for your love, guidance and teaching me how to be the best I can be. Rest in God’s Peace.

I Love You Always,

Your Daughter #3, Josie My Mom

Evelyn L. Gillespie

Sunrise Date: June 7, 1921

Sunset Date: September 11, 2007

In the featured photo above; (left-right) Jerry, Josie, my son-in-law John, my daughter Indika, my dear friends Pat & Wayne.  On the date of this photo, Indika and John shared their good news with us – they were expecting their first baby!  Thank you GOD for giving us something to smile about on this day.

 

 

Tags: ,

Categories: Things to Remember

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “September 11th……A day we will never forget”

  1. Raquel OQuinn
    September 11, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

    Beautifully written…

    In loving memory xoxo

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • September 11, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

      awww niecey thank you and thank your Aunt Glo for providing the inside info.

  2. September 12, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    What a lovely tribute! Your mother sounded like an amazingly accomplished woman!

    • September 12, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      Thanks Tracey – she was an amazing woman.

Leave a Reply

