Grilled Teriyaki Wings

Happy Football Sunday!

I can’t watch football without munchies and libations.  So today I made myself a batch of Grilled Teriyaki Wings with a Sweet Sticky Glaze, Grilled Red Potatoes and Zucchini. If you’re serving a crowd, you might want to double this recipe.  Here’s how I made my awesome Grilled Teriyaki Wings, Sweet Sticky Glaze and Grilled Veggies.

I started with 3 lbs of whole chicken wings. I left the tips on my wings – wing tips makes perfect little handles.

IMG_0601

Here’s how I made my Brine. I added all of these ingredients to a bowl;

4 cups water

2 cups brown sugar

1 bulb of garlic (sliced in half with cloves pulled apart)

8 slices fresh ginger

4 tablespoons kosher salt

6-8 sprigs fresh thyme

juice from 1 fresh lime (cut lime into 4 pieces)

Whisk all the ingredients together then add chicken wings

IMG_0607 IMG_0609

I covered my bowl with a lid and brined the wings overnight for maximum flavor.

IMG_0610

The next day I made my Sweet Sticky Glaze.  I added all of the ingredients (listed below) to a small sauce pan and simmered over low heat or until the glaze was slightly reduced down.  Here’s the ingredients for my Sweet Sticky Glaze;

2 cups teriyaki sauce

3/4 cup Orange Marmalade Jam

2 tablespoons honey

1 large piece (1 inch size) fresh ginger cut into slices

1 medium head fresh garlic (separated, paper removed and smashed)

1 tablespoons toasted sesame oil

1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

ground black pepper

Pinch Aleppo Pepper or red pepper flakes (optional)

IMG_0618

 Grilling the wings

I removed all of the wings from the marinade and rinsed them off with cold water and patted them dry. I tossed my wings with 2 tablespoons of Toasted Sesame Oil.  I didn’t add any other seasoning before I put them on the grill.  I grilled my wings 3-4 minutes per side and basted them a couple of times with the Sweet Sticky Glaze.  Par boiled the red potatoes until they are fork tender before grilling.  I slathered all the veggies with my homemade roasted garlic butter and veggie seasoning.  Grilled veggies for about 3-4 minutes per side – then I removed them to a serving dish and covered with aluminum until I was ready to serve.

IMG_0620 IMG_0621

IMG_0634

After grilling my wings – I put them in a baking pan, brushed each with more of the Sticky Sweet Glaze, covered  pan with aluminum and place the pan on the top rack of my grill.  I continued to cook the wings for about 15-18 minutes covered until they were nice and tender.

IMG_0625 IMG_0630  IMG_0632

I had to sample the veggies (with a side of Ranch Dressing) while I was waiting for my wings……….and YES they were so good.  They were nice golden brown (on the top), tender and delicious in the center!

IMG_0637

After waiting patiently for my wings,  lunch is finally ready just in time for the second half of the Chargers game…….Go Chargers! In case you are wondering…….NO I didn’t eat all that food.  I made extra so I won’t have to cook for the next couple of days.

IMG_0642 IMG_0643 IMG_0644 IMG_0645

IMG_0649

wings served with a small bowl of Sticky Sweet Glaze on the side!

 

Tags:

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers, Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Grilled Teriyaki Wings”

  1. September 22, 2014 at 9:08 am #

    Terrific looking wings and the rest of the plate is gorgeous too.

    Disco

    • September 22, 2014 at 9:24 am #

      thanks Disco. How are you and “the missus” :o)

  2. lynne ransom
    September 25, 2014 at 7:49 am #

    Got three days off, think I will try this…getting better………

    • September 25, 2014 at 8:17 am #

      You gonna love these wings Lynne. Email me some pictures of your dish when you make it!

  3. lynne ransom
    September 25, 2014 at 7:50 am #

    love the pictures for any and all that are all thumbs in a kitchen!

    • September 25, 2014 at 8:21 am #

      Lynne – glad you are getting better in the kitchen. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

