How to make Roasted Garlic Butter and Sage Butter

One of my viewers, Rosa H, sent me an email a few days ago and she said the following; “OK Josie, I am sitting here salivating over your roasted veggies and Teriyaki Wings! (see Grilled Teriyaki Wings posted 9-21-14). So my dearest Josie, how did you make that Roasted Garlic Butter?”  Well Rosa H, yesterday I made a batch of Roasted Garlic Butter just for you. I was out of Sage Butter, so I am making it today also.  I love to use Sage butter when I am roasting turkey or chicken because it adds a really nice layer of flavor.  I will be posting some of my favorite “poultry” recipes in the weeks to come.  In the meantime Rosa H, here’s my Roasted Garlic and Sage Butter recipe.

Roasted Garlic Butter

I started off with three whole bulbs of fresh garlic.  I cut 1/4″ off the top of each bulb

cut tops off garlic

A muffin tin makes a perfect holding container for the garlic bulbs.  I lined my muffin tin with aluminum and place a bulb in each holding spot. I drizzled extra virgin olive oil on each bulb.

muffin tinmuffin tin cover with foilgarlic drizzled with olive oil

I covered the muffin tin with aluminum foil and placed it on the top shelf of my grill.  You can also roast your garlic in the oven.  Roast at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.  I just happened to be grilling outside again today so I made my roasted garlic on the grill.

covered with foil ready to bakeadded to top shelf of grill

After 30 minutes roasting time, this is what your garlic should look like.

roasted garlic after 30 minutes

Let the garlic cool so you can handle it.  Squeeze each clove of garlic out of the paper wrapping just like this into a bowl.  Notice I am wearing gloves……..I would recommend you wear gloves also.  If you don’t your hands will smell like garlic for a week – trust me on that one!

 squeezing garlic out of paper

I used a fork and smashed the softened garlic like this

smashing roasted garlicsmashing roasted garlic 2

Add 2 sticks of softened (salted butter) and mix together until well combined

adding softened butter (2) adding softened butter (4)

I used a silicon baking tray and added my Roasted Garlic butter into 4 compartments. When the butter is frozen, it will release from the silicon tray with ease.

adding garlic butter to ice tray (2) adding garlic butter to ice tray (3)

Sage Butter

I used 2 sticks of salted butter and added 2 tablespoons of Rubbed Dalmatian Sage by McCormick Seasoning.  Mix together until well combined.  Add to silicon tray, cover with aluminum foil and freeze.

sage butter (1) sage butter (2) sage butter (3)prepared butter ready 4 freezer (1)

Here’s what my sticks of butter looked like after freezing.  See how easy it releases from the silicon tray – it just pops out!

frozen roasted garlic butter (2) frozen SAGE butter

I wrapped each stick in plastic wrap and put each in a MARKED Ziploc bag.

wrapped butters (1) wrapped butters (2) wrapped butters (3)

I always have Roasted Garlic Butter, Sage Butter, Chives Butter and Italian Butter in my freezer – ready to use!wrapped butters (4)

Rosa H if you have any other questions email me anytime.

Warm Blessings and Happy Cooking!

Josie Roed

 

Tags: ,

Categories: Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “How to make Roasted Garlic Butter and Sage Butter”

  1. September 23, 2014 at 3:34 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe.

    I will be trying this.

    • September 23, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

      You’re welcome my friend. I will be trying your Zucchini recipe soon. Thanks for stopping by Adam. Say “Hey” to Laura.

    • September 23, 2014 at 5:57 pm #

      Adam…….I am now following your blog. Now post something LOL……

  2. September 23, 2014 at 8:48 pm #

    Reblogged this on cfarmer1's Blog and commented:
    AWESOME

  3. lynne ransom
    September 26, 2014 at 5:25 am #

    This looks so easy to follow…trying this too…thanks for the pictures…getting bolder in the kitchen ….

    • September 26, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      You will enjoy this recipe Lynne. I am so glad you are getting bolder in the kitchen……..you go girl! Happy cooking this weekend.

Leave a Reply

