September 26th…….A very special day!

On this day last year, September 26, 2013, Jerry and I celebrated two very special events; Our 11th wedding anniversary and the unveiling of the patented Poker game Jerry and his business partner developed.  Their game was unveiled at the G2E Gaming Show – one of the  largest gaming shows in the world! This is the show EVERYONE in the gaming industry attends.

I remember the morning of September 26, 2013, like it was yesterday.   I was in the kitchen making breakfast.  Jerry was in the bedroom deciding on what to wear on this very special day.  He came in the kitchen twice with 2 suits and 2 shirts and asked me which suit he should wear.  We agreed on a suit and shirt; a custom made Italian black suit with a yellow silk t-shirt.  Jerry had a wonderful flair for fashion.  He always dressed well and always looked sharp.  We sat at the table and talked non stop about the development of their poker game, and how long it took for the poker patent to go through.  Jerry said, “I can’t believe this is really happening today babe.  Now all we have to do is sell this game.”

At breakfast, Jerry gave me the most beautiful “Happy Anniversary”card that made me cry.  He always found the most awesome anniversary cards and they ALWAYS made me cry.  We rushed through breakfast, dropped the dishes in the sink and Jerry said, “Race you to the shower.”  I lost that race!!!!  By now, I am as excited as Jerry was.  I went through my closet a few times and decided on the perfect outfit that would compliment what my honey was wearing on OUR special day.

We arrived at the convention center right at noontime.  Jerry dropped me off in front of the convention center and he left to go park the car in valet. I walked into the convention center looked around at everything and waited for Jerry.  While I was waiting, I made a quick trip to the ladies room to make sure my makeup was perfect……it’s a girl thing!  After checking my makeup, hat, suit etc., I headed back to the place where Jerry and I were suppose to meet, at the bottom of the escalator.  I was standing there looking around when my cell phone started to ring.  I answered it and heard Jerry’s voice.  He said, “Hey there, are you waiting for someone? Look up.” So I looked up and at the top of the escalator there he was…….looking so handsome!  I rode the escalator to the top where Jerry was standing.  He looked at me with the biggest smile, put my hand on his arm and said, “Hello beautiful, lets go checkout our Poker Game!” We giggled like two teenagers out on a first date.  It seemed like it took forever to get to the door of the convention hall.  At last, we are finally walking into the convention hall.  By now Jerry’s is walking a little faster holding my hand and said, “Babe are you ok?”  I said, “Yes I’m good…. but can we slow down just a bit.”  We looked at each other and started to laugh out loud!

It took us a bit longer to get to the exhibit booth. Jerry was highly regarded in the gaming industry.  Every time we ran into someone that knew him, we had to stop so he could talk to that person.  The trip to the exhibit booth should have only taken 10 minutes to get there.  As a result of stopping so many times along the way, it took us over an hour to arrive at the exhibit booth where his game was on display.  When we finally arrived at the exhibit booth, we stopped and stared at the most beautiful poker game, then we looked at each other and smiled!  We walked over to the game, looked at it a little closer and we could not stop smiling.  After a few minutes, Jerry introduced himself to one of the sales representatives in the booth and I took several pictures.  I will never forget the look of pride on Jerry’s face that day.  And, I will never forget how proud I was of Jerry on our anniversary day.  I will always have wonderful memories of that day  – September 26, 2013.   Sending up a “Happy Anniversary” wish to my Jerry in heaven.  I miss him more than words can say…………….

Jerry G2E

Jerry and side view of poker game resized 1-28-14

 

Jerry and Next GamingProud Jerry

 

Josie and Poker GamePrecedent Gaming Poker Game and Jerry - resized and cropped 1-28-14

 

Gaming clientJerry and magazine

Indy 9-26-13The poker Game with Topper

Connecting Gaming to the World.top of poker game

Tags: , ,

Categories: Remembering a Special Day

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “September 26th…….A very special day!”

  1. September 26, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    What great memories of someone you love. I am so happy they bring you joy. May they continue to warm your heart.

    Disco

    • September 26, 2014 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks Disco – and yes my memories (and my Sophie) warm my heart everyday.

  2. Indy
    September 26, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

    Love the photos

    • September 26, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

      I knew you would baby :o) that was a great day!

  3. Angelic Meier
    September 26, 2014 at 7:47 pm #

    Happy anniversary and all my love, Josie.

    Thinking and praying for you, Angelic

    Sent from my iPhone

    • September 26, 2014 at 8:29 pm #

      thanks Angelic for your prayers. Sending lots of love and prayers back to you, Mark and my favorite little girl Ms. Z :o)

Leave a Reply

