Flat Iron Steak Crunch Wrap Burritos

Today I tried a new recipe that was shared with me by my “smoking friends” Adam and Laura from the Smoking Meats Forum. Adam and Laura’s recipe is their take on a fast food version of the Crunch Wrap Burritos.  I don’t usually eat at fast food establishments so when I saw Adam and Laura’s recipe I thought to myself, “this really looks like a tasty recipe I need to try.”  Checkout Adam and Laura’s version of this recipe http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/168635/taco-bells-crunch-wrapsThanks Adam and Laura for sharing your recipe – here’s my version of  “Crunch Wrap Burritos”

I started off with 1  1/2 lb. flat iron steak that I marinated overnight with the following ingredients:

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon Montreal Steak Seasoning

1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

1 teaspoon granulated garlic

1 teaspoon granulated onion

2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

Mix all the marinating ingredients together. Place Flat Iron Steak in a glass dish and pour marinade over the steak. Cover with a lid (or plastic wrap) and refrigerate overnight for maximum flavor.

IMG_0919

I roasted my bell peppers on the stove top using the following method;  I placed (1) green bell pepper and (1) red bell pepper on my stove burners.  I charred the peppers on all sides.  Then I removed them from the burners to a glass bowl, covered with plastic wrap and let the peppers sweat for 30 minutes.

IMG_0905 IMG_0906 IMG_0912 IMG_0914 IMG_0916 IMG_0918

After 30 minutes I removed the peppers from the bowl and took off the charred skin, sliced and kept out what I needed for this recipe and stored the rest in a jar with olive oil for another use. I ALWAYS have roasted peppers on hand.

IMG_0952IMG_0956IMG_0957

I sliced 1 medium sweet onions and sautéed it with a pinch of red pepper flakes, olive oil, and a dash of kosher salt.  Cook onions until softened and caramelized. Remove to a dish, cover and set aside until ready to use.

IMG_0922 IMG_0925

IMG_0936 IMG_0938

The next day I removed my Flat Iron Steak from the marinade and let it sit on a plate for 20 minutes before I added it to the grill.  I grilled it over high heat – 3 minutes per side.  I removed it to a plate and let it rest for 15 minutes before slicing it.

IMG_0933 IMG_0939 IMG_0942

In the meantime, I prepared my corn tortillas;  I placed a cast iron frying pan over medium high heat and added enough peanut oil to coat the bottom of the pan.   I took 2 corn tortillas and cut them in half – placed in the hot frying pan and cooked until golden brown. Removed 1 tortilla to a wire rack until ready to use and I snacked on the other one!

IMG_0944 IMG_0945 IMG_0947 IMG_0949IMG_0950

I sliced my Flat Iron Steak into thin slices, added it to a pan along with, a splash of olive oil, sliced bell peppers, sautéed onions, and 1 teaspoon of taco seasoning (I make my own Taco Seasoning – you can use your favorite store purchased kind).  Toss steak and veggies in the pan just long enough to blend and warm thru.

DSCN3223IMG_0960IMG_0963

Now it’s time to start building my Crunch Wrap Burritos.  I started with 2 High Fiber Low Carb Whole Wheat Tortilla Wraps, Sprinkled some Mexican 4 Cheeses on top and added the cooked corn tortilla chip to each.

IMG_0979IMG_0969IMG_0971

Added my *Homemade Crème Fraiche, Sliced Flat Iron Steak, peppers/sautéed onions, salsa, and a second Whole Wheat Tortilla Wrap on top. Tuck the second tortilla wrap around the bottom tortilla tightly and place into a frying pan seamed side down.  I added just enough peanut oil to coat the bottom of my frying pan. Fry over medium high heat until golden brown, then flip over and fry the other side until golden brown.

IMG_0972IMG_0973IMG_0975IMG_0976IMG_0977IMG_0982

IMG_0984

 Remove from pan and serve immediately with your favorite salsa!

IMG_0991

 *NOTE: If you don’t want to make your own Homemade Crème Fraiche, you can use store purchased sour cream…..if you must! I’m telling you –  Homemade Crème Fraiche taste so much better than sour cream.  Checkout my easy video on “Making Crème Fraiche” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKp3xDFfSBc – Once you make your first batch of Crème Fraiche you will be hooked and you will never buy sour cream again……

 

 

 

 

Tags:

Categories: Family Meals, Time Saving Meals

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

13 Comments on “Flat Iron Steak Crunch Wrap Burritos”

  1. October 4, 2014 at 4:45 pm #

    Wow. Yours look sooooo much better than mine.

    • October 4, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

      ha-ha Adam. Yours looked awesome too – made me want to try it. Thanks again for the recipe my friend. Have a great “smoking” weekend. Say “hey” to Laura.

      • October 4, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

        Will do. Got some cb to make tomorrow.

      • October 4, 2014 at 5:24 pm #

        cb??

      • October 4, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

        Canadian bacon

      • October 4, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

        ha-ha……..I should have know that one!!! Are you going to post the step by step on the forum? That’s what I am going to try next so I need your expert help!

  2. October 4, 2014 at 5:41 pm #

    I didnt take pics. I used Bears method. I can walk you through it thou.

    • October 4, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

      ok that would be great thanks.

      • October 4, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

        Look up Bears thread. Text me if you need help.

      • October 4, 2014 at 5:52 pm #

        yeah I have that thread. I flagged it so I could find it. Bear has been helping me find Tender Quick here in Vegas. He’s awesome and really helpful….

  3. Jon Peterson
    October 4, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

    Wow! That looks great.

    Date: Sat, 4 Oct 2014 23:30:27 +0000 To: vanimal1677@hotmail.com

  4. October 5, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

    Wow, what a terrific looking dish. Another item on my list of things to try.

    • October 5, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

      Got that idea from Adam aka cfarmer. Really tasty dish and yes you must try it!

Leave a Reply

