Maple Glazed Baby Back Ribs and Chicken

Yesterday, I made a Maple Glaze recipe that was off the charts good!  This recipe was shared with me by another one of my “smoking buddies” Disco. His Maple Glaze is the best with just the right amount of sweet and spice.  The first time I made this recipe a couple of days ago, I used the maple syrup I had in my pantry.  Big mistake because it was “lite maple syrup” and I didn’t taste that rich maple flavor I was looking for.  So today I made Disco’s recipe again and this time I used a quality maple syrup in the glaze and it made a huge difference in the flavor profile.  Here’s the maple syrup I used.  I found it at Village Meat & Wine here in Las Vegas. The ingredients on the back label; 100% Pure Grade A Dark Amber Maine Maple Syrup.  

 IMG_1040

I smoked a couple slabs of baby back ribs and lots of chicken legs and wings for tomorrow’s game day munchies and Monday night football munchies!  I asked my neighbor if she wanted to throw something on the smoker and she brought over 2 beautiful boneless pork chops.  I threw on a Kobe beef hotdog for me to snack on. A full smoker is a happy smoker!

Q-view full and happy smokerQ-view the cooks snack

Ribs

I ran my smoker right around 225-250 degrees for the best results.  As always, I slathered my ribs with yellow mustard and liberally sprinkled my dry rub on both slabs.  I used the 2-2-1 smoking method for my baby back ribs.  The “2” stands for the amount of hours I will be smoking the ribs.  After “2” hours I removed the ribs from the smoker and brushed them with my Maple Glaze. I placed the ribs ~ meat side down on a sheet of foil, added  a couple pats of roasted garlic butter, then I double wrapped them in heavy duty foil. After the 2 hours cooking time, I removed my ribs from the smoker, unwrapped them carefully, then I returned them back on the smoker for the “1” part of the method.  I don’t usually leave my ribs on the smoker for that last hour.  I usually take them off after 30 minutes.

Chicken

After 2 hours smoking time, I placed the chicken in a aluminum pan, brushed it with the Maple Glaze, added a couple pats of my roasted garlic butter and wrapped the pan with heavy duty aluminum foil.  I cooked my chicken to an internal temperature of 180 degrees and it was moist, fork tender and delicious with a nice chew.

Boneless Pork Chops

After 2 hours of smoking,  I removed the pork chops from the smoker, brushed both with Maple Glaze, topped both with a pat of roasted garlic butter then wrapped both in aluminum foil.  I cooked the pork chops until the internal temp was between 165-170.  My neighbor gave me a slice of her pork chop and it was extremely tender, moist and delicious!

Disco’s Maple Glaze

I made a double batch of Disco’s Maple Glaze because I wanted to make sure I had enough for everything.  Disco’s recipe called for brown sugar.  When I started to make the recipe, I realized I didn’t have any brown sugar (darn-it) so I used Grandma’s Molasses (Robust Flavor) and it was good. * I added a little something extra.  Here’s Disco’s Maple Glaze recipe. Checkout his original recipe “Smoked Picnic Shoulder with Maple Glaze” on the Smoking Meats Forum.  Here’s the link;

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/152782/smoked-picnic-shoulder-i-meant-to-smoke-it-i-really-did#post_1094147

3/4 cup maple syrup (use a good quality maple syrup)

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons packed brown sugar

2 1/2 tablespoons ketchup

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

*I added 2 tablespoons of my roasted garlic butter

Add ingredients to a small sauce pan and bring to a boil. I removed my sauce pan from the heat, covered with a lid and set it aside until I was ready to use it.  The Maple Glaze may be stored in the refrigerator for a couple of weeks.

Here’s a few pics of my finished Maple Glazed Chicken and Baby Back Ribs.  Everything was so flavorful!

IMG_1046 IMG_1050 IMG_1051

IMG_1053IMG_1058 IMG_1061

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Smoking Meat, Time Saving Meals

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Maple Glazed Baby Back Ribs and Chicken”

  1. October 5, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

    Oh my, Josie. You took my simple recipe and raised it to a new level. I have only used it on ham and bacon on a stick (cured and smoked ribs). It looks great on regular smoked ribs and the chicken looks to die for. I slump away in shame that I never thought of it!

    Disco

    • October 5, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

      ha-ha Disco you are too funny. Don’t you dare slump away in shame because your recipe is AWESOME. I love that it can be used on so many different types of meat. I just added your original link. I am still trying to figure out how to link to your blog. stay tuned my friend.

Leave a Reply

