Changing My Visuals……

These days I am on a “see food diet”….That means I am usually snacking on things that I see in my fridge.  Sometimes they are not the best food choices.  My thought, “It is what it is Josie.  As long as your belly is full then it must be ok.”  So today I decided to change my refrigerator visuals.  I cleaned out all the junk food that taste so dang good and replaced it with healthier choices.  My daughter Indika, a Certified Physical Fitness Trainer would be fussing at me right about now about my eating habits. Shhhhhh we won’t tell her LOL! I can hear Jerry saying, “Ahhh babe, you made me eat all that healthy stuff now look at you eating all that tasty junk food you kept me away from!”  Jerry would be absolutely right.  I am eating more junk/convenient food than I have EVER eaten before.  It’s so much easier eating chips and salsa than cooking for one person.  That’s my logic – WRONG on so many levels and I know it’s NOT always the best food choices for me.  Don’t judge me not right now.  Grief and stress is a b@!*h and it makes me eat crap I would not ordinarily eat.  There I said it out loud now let’s move on!!!

Yesterday my Magic Bullet, the blender I make all of my wonderful smoothies with decided to stop working.  I guess after 10 years of dedicated service it was time for my old girl to stop working.  So today, I marched myself over to Wal-Mart and I purchased a new Nutri-Bullet.  In the morning (Sunday), I will make myself a green drink using my new Nutri-bullet. I will post pics tomorrow of my first “green drink.”

Here’s pics of my NEW refrigerator visuals (top shelf) left-right; thin sliced green/red cabbage, cucumbers, carrots, celery, zucchini squash, kale, Almond Milk, Orange Juice.  Bottom shelf (left-right) strawberry yogurt, more thin sliced green/red cabbage, collard greens and fresh strawberries.

IMG_1066.

I have lots of Granny Smith Apples, fresh chives, scallions, fresh ginger, mushrooms, romaine lettuce, green leaf lettuce, fresh garlic, sweet onions, red onions and arugula in the bottom storage bin ready to use.

I like to take the time and chop up my green drink ingredients all at once.  If I do this, then I will make my green drinks every morning because everything is chopped up and ready to use.  Yes, it’s a pain-in-the-butt but it is so worth it in the long run.  In the morning, I will grab all of my ingredients, throw them into my new Nutri-Bullet and my breakfast green drink is done in seconds!! I forgot to tell you,  “the beagle” loves my green drinks!!!! LOL I love my Sophie “the beagle.”

  My new Nutri-Bullet – can’t wait to try it out in the morning!

IMG_1092

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Smoothie's Anytime!

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Changing My Visuals……”

  1. October 13, 2014 at 3:53 pm #

    I am a firm believer that if you cook it, it is healthy. If it comes prepackaged it isn’t. You have a great ability to make great food (I’ve read your blog!). Keep it fresh, keep it homemade, keep it healthy. I want to read your great blog for years to come!

    • October 13, 2014 at 3:55 pm #

      Thanks Disco….I will always keep it fresh, HOMEMADE and healthy!

Leave a Reply

