Hot Sweet Sticky Chicken Wings

For “Thursday Night Football” you gotta have some serious munchies on hand.  So last night I made myself a batch of Hot Sweet Sticky Chicken Wings, Fresh Corn Fritters (see next post) and a arugula/green salad mix tossed with a raspberry vinegarette dressing.  I really enjoyed my Thursday night football munchies.  I didn’t get to watch much of the game because my son, Kory stopped by for a visit.  I offered him some chicken wings and he said, “No, I better not because I probably have dinner waiting for me at home.” I said, “OK” and continued putting away my leftovers. Then I said, “I made one of Dad’s favorite dishes – Fresh Corn Fritters would you like to taste one?” Kory said, “Fresh Corn Fritters…… oh yeah”  He ate two of them!!

When I made my dill pickles  a couple of days ago, I had some of the Kosher Dill Mix leftover.  I used the leftover dill mix as a brine for my chicken wings and it really gave my chicken wings a great flavor.  NOTE: You can make this chicken wings recipe without brining your chicken.  Here’s how I made my Hot Sweet Sticky Chicken Wings. See the next post for my Fresh Corn Fritters recipe.  Enjoy!

Hot Sweet Sticky Chicken Wings

I started with 2 lbs of whole chicken wings.  The wing tips make perfect little handles to hold on to when you’re eating chicken wings! I put my chicken wings in a small pan and poured the leftover dill pickling mix covering all of the wings.  As I mentioned above, you do not have to brine the wings.  I just happened to have some brine leftover from making dill pickles so I thought I would use it. (see post “Making Dill Pickles, Pickled Carrots, Onions and Garlic”)

IMG_1272

I covered the pan with plastic wrap, placed it in the fridge and marinated my wings for 2 hours.

IMG_1275

After 2 hours marinating time I removed my wings from the brine, put them in a strainer and rinsed off with cold water. I dried the wings with a paper towel and set aside.

IMG_1276

Making the flour mixture

In a large bowl add these ingredients and mix until well combined.

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon Panko Bread Crumbs

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic

1/2 teaspoon granulated onion

1 teaspoon paprika

IMG_1279

Toss chicken wings in the mix.  Mix until wings are coated with the flour mixture.

IMG_1280

IMG_1283

Preheat your oven to 475 degrees

Line a small sheet pan with aluminum foil and spray lightly with canola oil.  Place chicken wings in the pan and drizzle with olive oil.

IMG_1286

Bake chicken wings in a 475 degree oven for 45-50 minutes – turning once.  While the wings are baking start preparing your Hot Sweet Sticky Sauce.  In a small sauté pan over medium low heat, add 2 tablespoons of jalapeno jelly (preferably homemade) or use the store bought kind if you must….too bad you don’t live closer I would give you a jar of my Jalapeno Jelly!

IMG_1288

Add 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons of your favorite hot sauce.

IMG_1290

Whisk together until the jalapeno jelly and the butter is melted.  Remove from the heat, cover and set aside.

IMG_1292

When the wings are done put them into a stainless steel bowl. Pour the Hot Sweet Sticky sauce over wings and toss together until all the wings are coated with sauce. Serve immediately.

IMG_1309

IMG_1310

Here’s my football night munchies! Hot Sweet Sticky Chicken Wings, Fresh Corn Fritters, Arugula and Greenleaf Lettuce  tossed with Raspberry Vinegarette dressing. FYI……..I didn’t eat all of those wings and corn fritters – I just put them on the platter for the picture.  The leftovers WILL be eaten today for lunch for sure LOL……Happy Friday!

IMG_1318

Tags: ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Hot Sweet Sticky Chicken Wings”

  1. Elaine
    October 18, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    The wings sound great. I think we’ll try them when we get back. I can’t wait for the fritter recipe— they were sooo good.

    • October 18, 2014 at 11:02 am #

      you will like the wings recipe. Will be posting the Fresh Corn Fritter recipe later on today. Have a safe trip. See you girls when you get back in town.

Leave a Reply

