Making Dill Pickles, Pickled Carrots, Onions and Garlic

A couple of days ago I saw pickling cucumbers on sale so I purchased 5 of them.  I made dill pickles and carrots for Jerry all the time.  Dill pickles was one of the “free food” snacks Jerry could eat whenever he wanted to. So I always had a couple of jars in the fridge all the time. I like to pickle carrots, celery, onions and garlic together.  Pickled veggies are really tasty in salads. Jerry loved it when I added my dill pickles and pickled onions to his tuna.

One day my son-in-law, John and my granddaughter Preston stopped by and had lunch with Jerry and I.  I made tuna sandwiches and had a big bowl of Kettle chips in the center of the table. I remember how they all really enjoyed those tuna sandwiches!  Jerry and John talked non-stop about a business venture he was working on. Preston and I visited and enjoyed our girl’s chat!  Preston ate her sandwich and chips, left the table and started playing with Sophie and forgot all about chatting with Grandma Josie LOL. That was a fun day.  Jerry really enjoyed visiting with his son-in-law and granddaughter on that day.

Here’s my Dill Pickles, Pickled Carrots, Onions and Garlic recipe. Enjoy!

(Click on any image to enlarge)

I started with 6 whole carrots that were, peeled, cut in half and sliced into small sticks, 5 pickling cucumbers – ends cut off and cut into spears, 7 cloves of smashed garlic (skin removed) 1 medium onion sliced thin.

IMG_1218

Preparing the jars

I started with 3 clean jars; 2 quart jars and 1 – 16 oz. jar

IMG_1220

I poured HOT water into each jar and set them aside. This will warm up the jars and prepare them for the hot liquid I will be adding next.

IMG_1222

Preparing the Kosher Dill Pickle Mix

Add all the ingredients below to a medium saucepan and heat to a boil.

2 cups cold water

1 cup white distilled vinegar

1/4 cup Ball Kosher Dill Pickle Mix

IMG_1225 IMG_1244

I poured the hot water OUT of my jars and added the cucumber spears, carrots, smashed garlic, onion slices, a pinch of black peppercorns and a pinch of Aleppo Pepper flakes into each jar.  You can substitute red peppers flakes for the Aleppo Pepper flakes – or you can omit the pepper flakes all together. Or try one jar with pepper flakes and one without!

IMG_1227 IMG_1228

Fill each jar with the HOT Kosher Dill Pickle mix.  Notice I poured the HOT Dill Pickle mix into a measuring cup – this made it easier to pour the HOT mix.

IMG_1230

I strained the Dill Pickle mix so I could remove the spices.  I spooned some of the spices into each jar and stirred to combine.

IMG_1231

IMG_1233

IMG_1234

I added lids to all of the jars

IMG_1237

I turned the jars upside down to make sure the spices are completely incorporated in the liquid.

IMG_1236

I had 1  3/4 cups of the Dill Pickle mix leftover so I used it as a brine for my chicken wings. See post “Hot, Sweet, Sticky Chicken Wings”

IMG_1241

Refrigerate Dill Pickles overnight.  They will be ready to eat the next day.  Enjoy!

IMG_1237

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

