Fresh Corn Fritters

I remember when I was developing my first corn fritters recipe.   When I think back to that day it was pretty funny.  The first time I made fresh corn fritters it was an absolute disaster as you will read about in the story below……..

The first time I made fresh corn fritters, I decided to add more fresh corn than I should have to the recipe……that  was really BAD idea!  The reason why this was a really bad idea; I didn’t add more ingredients (i.e. flour or cornmeal)  that would have thicken up my corn fritter mixture.  When I dropped the first scoop full of corn mixture in the HOT oil it started popping all over the place.  Jerry and I were laughing so hard while we were running out of the kitchen and ducking for cover.  We were trying to get away from the HOT popping corn kernels!!!!!  Brandy (our boxer dog at that time) was running right behind us!  When it was safe to go back in the kitchen, I immediately covered the pan and removed it from the burner.  I thought to myself, “Josie, you might have to re-think this darn recipe.”  We survived my Fresh Corn Fritters disaster. I managed to make a small batch of corn fritters. Jerry said, “Babe these are really good – you gotta try this recipe again.” I did try my recipe again and made it perfectly. My first recipe is in my cookbook,”The Roed to Good Cooking”  This at is one of those memories that always make me LOL and cry at the same time.

Here’s a NEW version of Fresh Corn Fritters.  Enjoy!

Fresh Corn Fritters

Servings: Depends on what size scoop you use

2 cups fresh cut corn kernels

1/4 cup green onions, chopped (I used the whole green onion)

1 large egg, beaten

1 tablespoon sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons yellow cornmeal

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

pinch red pepper flakes (optional)

*3 large EGG WHITES – these will be whipped up see next step

4-5 tablespoons canola oil

In a medium bowl add; corn kernels, green onions, 1 egg beaten, sugar, flour, cornmeal, kosher salt, ground black pepper and red pepper flakes (if using)  Mix all ingredients until well combined and set aside.

IMG_1297IMG_1300

In a separate clean bowl add 3 egg whites and whip until the egg whites are fluffy and doubled in volume.

IMG_1301 IMG_1303 IMG_1305

Pour whipped egg whites into the fresh corn mixture. GENTLY fold eggs whites into corn mixture. Try NOT to over-work the mixture.

IMG_1306 IMG_1307 IMG_1308

Preheat oven to 200 degrees

Add 3 tablespoons of canola oil in a skillet or non-stick frying pan.  When the oil is hot, GENTLY drop a scoop full of the corn mixture into hot oil.  I used a large ice cream scoop for my corn mixture.  Fry for 2-3 minutes on each side until they are golden brown. Add more oil if needed (for frying). I am cooking my Fresh Corn Fritters OUTSIDE just in case I have another popping incident! LOL….

 IMG_1313 IMG_1314

Remove the finished corn fritters to a sheet pan lined with a wire rack.  Season with a pinch of kosher salt and ground black pepper. Place finished corn fritters in the 200 degree oven to keep  warm until you finish frying the batches.

IMG_1317

I served these Fresh Corn Fritters with my “Hot Sweet Sticky Wings”

IMG_1318

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Great Side Dishes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Fresh Corn Fritters”

  1. October 19, 2014 at 11:03 am #

    Tried a sample and it was great. Just the right amount of sweetness set off by the onion and a hint of salt. They could be addictive.

    • October 19, 2014 at 11:05 am #

      lol……they ARE addictive that’s why I shared them :o)

  2. October 20, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

    I’ve tried this recipe and it’s one of my favorites!!! The kids loved them too and it was a tasty “tricky” way to get them to eat vegis! 😉

    • October 20, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

      that-a-girl Tricey. Trick those kids into eating more veggies! You’re a good mommy.

  3. October 20, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

    OK, I have to try this! Do you let Canadians make corn fritters?

    • October 20, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

      ha-ha Disco of course…………..ALL of my Canadian friends (that would be you) can make these! Are you growing fresh corn in your garden? If so, I am really jealous!

      • October 20, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

        Corn is pretty hard to grow here in the mountains. The season is too short. However, near here is a place called Tabor that grows the best corn. Next fall, this will be made!

      • October 21, 2014 at 9:28 am #

        Ok my Canadian friend!

      • SuperDave
        October 24, 2014 at 10:01 am #

        Disco,
        Green Giant Shoe peg corn is sweet and tender. Give it a try to hold you over.

      • October 24, 2014 at 10:28 am #

        will do.

Leave a Reply

