Fresh Veggies and Fresh Fruit…….Rinse it good!

Today I purchased all of the fresh veggies and fruit I will need to make my Green Drinks next week.  The first thing I did with all of my veggies and fruit was “rinsed everything good.”  It doesn’t make any sense to go through all the trouble of making healthy drinks if you don’t go through the trouble of rinsing the nasty pesticides off of your fresh produce.  Yeah it’s a pain-in-the-butt but it is a NECESSARY step in preserving your fresh produce.  In my Pocket Nutritionist booklet it says, ” Don’t wash kale and collard greens before storing it because it will spoil faster.”  I always wash my kale and collard greens before I store it.  My kale and collard greens always look AND taste just fine because I store it in an airtight glass jar. Plus I use it up within 4-5 days.

I feel so much better since my body is finally getting the proper nutrients on a daily basis.  I have lots more energy, I have been sleeping better and I definitely feel like moving more and that’s a good thing! Here’s the produce for my Green Drinks next week – week #2.

For the Leafy Greens; kale, spinach, butter lettuce, collard greens.

For the fruit; fresh pineapple, pears, Granny Smith Apples, Bananas, Mandarin oranges, red grapes, avocado(yes that’s considered a fruit) and blueberries.

For the Vegetables; squash, cucumbers, broccoli and celery.

For the added fiber; raw pumpkin seeds

Fixings for my Green Drinks

I rinsed my grapes, blueberries, *apples and *pears with cold water first.  I filled up a large bowl with cold water and added a couple drops of distilled white vinegar and soaked my fruit for a few minutes in the vinegar water.  Then I rinsed the fruit again with cold water and drained everything on a clean kitchen towel.  I will store my grapes and blueberries in an airtight container in the fridge. The apples and pears I put into a plastic bag and placed the bag in my produce bin.

*I scrubbed my apples and pears with my veggie brush under cold running water

IMG_1332

IMG_1336

I did the same process for the celery, *squash, *zucchini, broccoli, collard greens, kale and spinach.

IMG_1338 IMG_1342 IMG_1343

*For the zucchini and cucumbers I scrubbed them with my veggie brush under cold running water.  If you don’t have a veggie brush I would highly recommend buying one.  It’s a really handy kitchen tool you will  use all the time for veggies and fruit.

IMG_1349

 Everything was rinsed clean, chopped and put into airtight containers.  I chopped up some extra carrots.  I will chop up the avocado when I need it.  I will be using a couple of leaves of Butter Lettuce everyday so I will tear it off from the “living bulb” and wash it before I use it in my Green Drinks.

  I’m ready for my Green Drinks next week!

IMG_1353

Tags: ,

Categories: Helpful Tips

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Fresh Veggies and Fresh Fruit…….Rinse it good!”

  1. October 20, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    It is true than cleaning vegetables is important. However, I am famous for eating food right out of the garden. No bad effects yet but I would never do that with stuff out of the store

    Enjoy your smoothie!

    Disco

    • October 20, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Yes it really is important especially with store purchased produce. I am so envious of you with an outside garden. And I’m sure you are NOT spraying your veggies with harsh pesticides and other chemicals. I am growing herbs on my patio and when I see unwelcomed critters, I removed them and part of the plant. I NEVER spray pesticides…..NEVER NEVER NEVER.

Leave a Reply

