Made it through my first week at the gym!

I am happy to report I successfully made it through my first week at the gym WHEW!  I made it through sore muscles and without the aid of Ibuprofen, Extra Strength Tylenol or anything in pill form.  I relied solely on GOD’s perfect pain medicine; lots of fresh leafy greens and veggies that are a great source of antioxidants and fiber AND a ton of fresh strawberries that are loaded with heart-protecting, anti-inflammatory properties. My joints feel so much better these days.

My Green Drinks every morning helps me start my day off right with a ton of energy. Here’s my Friday Green Drink recipe.

IMG_1516

2 handful mixed greens *(kale, fresh spinach, collard greens)

1 cup strawberries

1/4 cup pineapple

1/4 cup celery

1/4 cup squash

1/4 cup cucumbers

1/8 cup raw pumpkin seeds

1/8 cup flaxseed

I filled my cup up to the “Max Line” with water and blended until smooth.  It was really good!

*Here’s what my fresh kale, spinach and collard greens look like after seven days.  See it still looks as crisp and fresh as it did last Saturday.  Properly rinsing fresh veggies is a must in preserving your fresh produce.  I use a glass jar to store my mixed greens in the fridge.

IMG_1515IMG_1517

I made my “Million Dollar Slow Roasted Chicken” a few days ago and it was awesome. I had some leftover so I made myself a special treat for lunch today – “Million Dollar Slow Roasted Chicken Wraps.”  I’ll post the recipe for my “Million Dollar Slow Roasted Chicken” soon.

I started with my favorite tortilla wraps – Spinach & Herbs  Extreme Wellness Tortillas. They are really low in calories, fat, carbs and high in fiber.IMG_1518

I warmed my tortillas in a hot skillet with NO oil

IMG_1505

 Added some homemade salsa to my warmed tortilla

IMG_1521

Topped with Butter Lettuce, pepperoncini’s and a little more homemade salsa

 IMG_1523

Added some of my “Million Dollar Slow Roasted Chicken” that was sautéed with Sun Dried Tomatoes and red onions.

IMG_1524

Rolled tortilla like a burrito and really enjoyed my wraps!

IMG_1530

After working out today I came home and picked up Sophie.  We went to her favorite park and walked 1 1/3 miles.  I have to set the speed for our walk around the trail because, once “the beagle” puts her nose on the ground we are usually walking faster than I care to LOL.  Here’s a pic of “the beagle” checking out the other dogs on the trail.

Sophie's walk 10-24-14Selfie of me and Sophie (the beagle) stretching after our walk!

Mom and Sophie stretching 10-24-14

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Something About Josie Roed, Time to Workout!

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Made it through my first week at the gym!”

  1. October 25, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    Yes, I certainly know what that feels like! Glad to see you are hanging there 🙂 I too have been giving a healthy lifestyle a go. It isn’t easy but I sure do feel better! I do a protein drink every morning and usually add green too. I’m enjoying your blog and thanks for sharing.

    • October 25, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

      Thanks so much for your kind words and thanks for following “The Roed to Good Cooking” Yes I’m hanging in there. It’s not easy working thru the pain of losing my Jerry. I know GOD and Jerry are watching over me everyday! Be Blessed “Life in a Moment”…. Josie

      • October 25, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

        🙂 and thank you for following “Life in the Moment” . Many good blogs to come… God bless

      • October 25, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

        looking forward to your blogs as well. Make it a great day! Warm Blessings, Josie
        P.S. one of my viewers ask me about my “crispy chicken wings” recipe so I will be shooting a video this weekend. Oh darn I will have to eat the crispiest chicken wings ever. It’s a tough job but someone has to do it! Will be in the gym first thing Monday morning lol

      • October 25, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

        Too funny!! Enjoy :-)!!

  2. October 25, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

    oh most definitely will enjoy those delicious “Crunchilious Chicken Wings”. who doesn’t like crispy chicken wings!!

  3. lynne ransom
    October 26, 2014 at 9:02 am #

    Wow, you are really determined, makes me want to go to the gym or at the least a walk around the block. I have for the mean time started drinking a smoothie every morning. Gives me great energy I follow your recipes at times and have started a few of my own. I always use coconut water though Makes me think I am doing something extra healthy…enjoy your blog…you are as funny as your brother..,have a great day…

    • October 26, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

      Lynne, I am so glad you are doing morning smoothies. I will have to try one with coconut water. I will be posting a whole new batch of smoothie recipes this week so stay tuned. I think my brother is much funnier LOL. Be Blessed..

  4. lynne ransom
    October 28, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

    Looking forward to new concoctions….

    • October 28, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

      just posted a “new concoction” check it out.

      Be Blessed,

      Josie

Leave a Reply

