Crispy Fried Chicken with Wasabi Ranch Dip

My sister friend Angie from Wisconsin who, loves my Crispy Fried Chicken, asked me to post my step-by-step recipe.  Angie girl, you know I am really trying to eat a little healthier these days. Making fried chicken is not on my eating healthy list.  However, after careful consideration (tongue in cheek with a wink LOL), I decided to make a sacrifice for the team…… if I must!  I will make my Crispy Fried Chicken recipe just for you and Marv.  I had to make the whole recipe so I have enough chicken for several meals.  Oh darn it, I will have to eat my delicious Crispy Fried Chicken  for days! You know I will have to workout at the gym a little harder this week after eating my delicious fried chicken!  I’ll be expecting a bottle of my favorite wine when I see you next month girl LOL. You know I love you and Marv. Here’s the recipe Enjoy!

Crispy Fried Chicken – this ain’t your mama’s chicken recipe!

Making chicken marinade

In a medium bowl add;

2 cups buttermilk

2 tablespoons of your favorite Hot Sauce

2 teaspoons parsley flakes

1 teaspoon black peppercorns

3-4 cloves fresh garlic, smashed

3 lbs whole chicken wings, tips left on

2 boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into strips (for your white meat eaters!)

Mix all ingredients together and add chicken.  Cover bowl with a lid or plastic wrap.  Marinade wings overnight for maximum flavor. I added the boneless skinless chicken breast the next day and let them marinade for a few hours.

IMG_1555

The next day prepare the dry ingredients.

ingredients

Ingredients starting from top to bottom

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup *sweet rice flour

1 cup potato starch (for the extra crunch)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 teaspoon Aleppo Pepper flakes (can substitute with red pepper flakes)

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning

1 tablespoon baking powder

*Sweet Rice Flour is suitable for individuals on wheat, rye, oat and barley gluten free diets.

Whisk all ingredients together. Add dry mixture to a plastic bag. and set aside until ready to use.

IMG_1553 IMG_1554

The next day remove chicken from the fridge.  Shake off excess marinade and add chicken to dry ingredients in plastic bag.  Shake vigorously to coat all of the chicken. Lay the chicken out on a baking sheet lined with a wire rack while the oil is heating up.

IMG_1556 IMG_1557

Heat the oil in a heavy skillet or a cast iron skillet for best results.  My Mom gave me my cast iron skillet over 30 years ago.  Whenever I want to fry some great chicken, I ALWAYS use my Mom’s cast iron skillet!

Heat the oil to 365-370 degrees.  Fry chicken for 8 minutes turning once until golden brown.  I fried my chicken in 3 batches.  Remove fried chicken to a another baking sheet lined with a wire rack and sprinkle with a pinch of kosher salt. Drain chicken on a paper towel if you like.  I was cooking outside so I heated my grill to low on one side.  I placed the baking sheet on other side of my grill to keep my wings warm until all of my batches were done.  If you are cooking inside, keep your chicken in a warm oven until all the batches are done.

IMG_1563

IMG_1573 IMG_1575

I served my chicken with Wasabi Ranch Dip.  I mixed Ranch Dressing with Wasabi Sauce.  Add enough Wasabi Sauce to your desired taste.  It’s hard to find Wasabi Sauce here sometimes so I order it on-line.  Every time I order my Wasabi Sauce I think about you and Marv because Silver Spring Foods is in your neck of the woods up there in Wisconsin. I usually order their 9 pack and mix the flavors. They have a Cranberry Wasabi Sauce that is awesome! Here’s their website is http://www.silverspringfoods.com.

IMG_1569 IMG_1572

Golden Brown delicious Crispy Fried Chicken Wings and Chicken Breast Strips served with Wasabi Ranch Dip, Savory Coleslaw,  my homemade Dill Pickles and Pickled Carrots (see post Making Dill Pickles……) I have a confession to make – I truly enjoyed my fried chicken. Shhhhhh don’t tell anyone LOL!

IMG_1582

IMG_1584

 

IMG_1585

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers, Time Saving Meals

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Crispy Fried Chicken with Wasabi Ranch Dip”

  1. October 28, 2014 at 9:33 am #

    My mouth is literally watering at 9:30 am! One of my favorites and yours is the delicious!

    • October 28, 2014 at 11:23 am #

      awww niecey so sorry your mouth was watering at 9:30 am! just got back home from the gym – might have to eat a few of my wings!!

Leave a Reply

