The Best Workout So Far!

This morning when I woke up my knees and hips were a little cranky.  My plan for today, was to go the gym early and try to workout the stiffness in my knees and hips.  I arrived at the gym and started off my workout riding the stationary bike to warm-up.  All went well with my warm-up so I headed upstairs for my weight training.

I started with the chest press machine then I moved over to the next machine and did some arm curls and arm pull downs. Continued on to the triceps and lower back machines. All is still going well  and I am feeling pretty good.  I decided to move across to the other side of the room to the leg press machines.  There was one leg press machine I wasn’t sure how to use so I asked the young girl (the coach) for assistance.  She demonstrated how to sit down in the chair and put both feet up on the flat press directly in front of her.  I watched her and thought to myself, “Josie, your stiff cranky knees are not going to bend like that.”

Now here’s the moment of truth.  The coach said, “Ok, now you try it.”  I sat down in the chair and thought, “Ok, I got this.”  Then it was time to raise my legs up and bend my knees and then ……here comes the pain ouch!  The coach said, “Ok, you are almost in the right position. Make sure your knees are at the same height as your toes.”  I’m thinking, “Are you friggin’ kidding me? My knees are NOT cooperating right now.” After some doing, I managed to get my knees bent enough so I could get my legs in the correct position.  Now it’s time to start the leg press exercise.  I could hear my coach chatting away. Then she said in a very cheerful voice, “You’re doing great, make sure you  inhale when your legs are coming up and exhale out when you extend your legs.” Now I’m thinking, “I’m suppose to breath through this pain? Get real………And why is she so dang cheerful while I’m sitting here in pain and agony!”  My sweet little coach asked me if I was ok.  I said in a very pitiful voice, “oh yeah, I’m good”  What I really wanted to say to my cheerful little coach was…….”If you walk away now I won’t choke the living crap out of you!”  FYI – I did not choke my coach and continued on with my leg press exercise for two more sets!

I must admit after really using my leg muscles, my knees and hips felt so much better after my workout.  At the end of my workout, I got on the elliptical machine, put my earphones back in, and cranked up my tunes.  The “Atomic Dog” by George Clinton was playing.  I love that song so I was really getting into the movement of the elliptical machine.  I could see the little old lady next to me looking in amazement.  She was probably thinking, “This crazy woman is riding that elliptical machine like her clothes are on fire.” I must have looked pretty ridiculous but I didn’t care because I was feeling pretty dang good!  At the end of my workout, I had a little more pep-in-my-step going down the stairs.  The “Atomic Dog” was still playing in my ears so I danced out the door! I bet Jerry was looking and LOL………..

I took Sophie for her walk.  At the end of our walk I stopped and stretched.  I was amazed that I could sit down and touch my toes with both hands.  I couldn’t do that two weeks ago and for that I give All Thanks to God for helping me along the way.  I have to give thanks to the coaches and trainers at the gym also. Double click on the last photo to enlarge it and checkout my t-shirt!

IMG_1608IMG_1605

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Time to Workout!

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “The Best Workout So Far!”

  1. Alvillar, Vivian
    October 28, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

    OMG girl you’ve got me in stiches!! I’m laughing my butt off because I can also hear your voice and moaning and groaning while you’re telling your story!! LOL I bet you’re right about Jerry, he was probably “YEAH baby, you do it! And laughing at the same time ☺

    You want to say “BREATHE THIS BIT_H! HAHAHAH

    But hey I worked right! EYE OF TIGER MAMA, EYE OF THE TIGER!!! LOL Now hit the showers and enjoy a nice little adult beverage afterwards before you go sleep. ☺

    Love ya
    Viv

  2. October 28, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

    LOL Viv……Eye of the Tiger Mama! Yep it’s time to hit the shower and I will have several adult beverages tonight! Love you Girl. Talk with you soon. Be blessed.

  3. LVClaudia1@aol.com
    October 29, 2014 at 11:59 pm #

    LOL!

Leave a Reply

