Making Country Maple Breakfast Sausage………..

This weekend I’m going to cater my brother-in-law’s birthday dinner party on Saturday, and birthday breakfast/brunch on Sunday.  So last night, I made some homemade Country Maple Breakfast Sausage for our Sunday breakfast.  This was the first time I made Country Maple Breakfast Sausage and I was pleasantly surprised how well it turned out.  To make sure my sausage was good, I had a “sausage tasting party” with my neighbors this morning.  They really enjoyed my Country Maple Breakfast Sausage!

I tried to shoot a video of my sausage making process but that did not workout.  When I started preparing my sausage, I soon realized I needed both hands.  Actually, I could have used an extra pair of hands to help out.  I really missed Jerry last night ;o*(

Anyway, I made it through my sausage making process around 11:00pm last night.  My brother-in-law is going to enjoy HIS Country Maple Breakfast Sausage!  Here’s a few pics of my sausage marathon last night LOL.

Here’s the meat grinding attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer I used.  I love grinding up all of my meat; chicken, pork, and beef.  Grinding up my meat products allows me to control the amount of fat in my ground meat.  I NEVER buy meat already ground up in the store. I like knowing what is in my fresh ground meat!

IMG_1851

IMG_1852

The sausage stuffing attachment is great.  It attaches to the meat grinder. I used olive oil to lubricate the attachment before I added the collagen sausage casing.

IMG_1859 IMG_1861

 Slide the collagen casing on the stuffer and tie a knot at the end.  Now I’m ready to start the stuffing process.

IMG_1862 IMG_1863 collagen casings (1)

1104142219

I used Hi Mountain Country Maple Blend seasoning.  This was the first time I have used this sausage seasoning. I was really impressed with this product.  It has just the right amount of sweet and spice blend that really compliments the pork.  I added a few pinches of Aleppo Pepper flakes for a  bit of heat – but not so much heat that it burns your tongue – just a nice background flavor.

Hi Mountain Maple seasoning

As I stated above, both of my hands were busy during the sausage stuffing process.  Sorry I wasn’t able to take more photos.  As my Dad use to say, “I was busier than a one legged man in a butt kicking contest making that sausage last night!” LOL.  The next time I make sausage I will have someone shoot the whole process I promise.  Here’s the finished product – Country Maple Breakfast Sausage for my brother-in-law’s birthday breakfast!

 time to eat (1)

time to eat (2)

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Family Meals, Making Homemade Sausage

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Making Country Maple Breakfast Sausage………..”

  1. November 5, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

    Looks like fine sausage, Josie. I have used the Hi Mountain Mountain Man Sausage Seasoning and liked them. I have also used Pop’s Country Sausage seasoning mix from Smoking Meat Forums and it reminds me of the sausage we had while I was growing up.

    I am glad the Maple sausage is good too and will try it.

    However, stuffing with your KitchenAid is the hard way to go. Getting a dedicated stuffer is way easier.

    Great post, great looking sausage!

    Disco

    • November 5, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

      Thanks Disco. I totally agree stuffing with my Kitchen Aid was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too labor intensive. Took me forever to get done. I am leaning towards that Grizzly Stuffer. What brand is the stuffer you use? Think I might like that electric one instead of the hand crank kind. I love that Hi Mountain Country Maple Blend. Very nice flavor with just the right amount of sweetness. All in all my sausage was really tasty!
      Be Blessed,

      Josie

  2. Pat
    November 12, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    Thank you for helping to make Gil’s Birthday celebration very special. You are “the hostess with the mostest”. It always a incredible experience to be a part of an event that you orchestrate. You just keep on doing what you do so very well. Love you Sis

    • November 12, 2014 at 9:43 am #

      the pleasure was all mine (and Sophie’s) to be able to share Gil’s blessed weekend. love you back sis.
      Sis Jo

  3. Case
    December 22, 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    Hi Josie, Just thumbing through your sausage cooks. I pulled the trigger and ordered a 5# Lem today with the stainless tubes. Can’t wait for it to get here.My wife doesn’t do pork so I will be delving into a bunch of chicken sausages.

    • December 22, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

      Hey Case – so glad to hear from ya. I am extremely happy with my Lem #5 Meat Grinder. I have mine proudly displayed on my stainless steel work table in my kitchen. I had a sausage tasting party last weekend and my sausage making equipment was the topic of conversation! I made some Spicy Maple Chicken Sausage Links last night – they were really good. Will post my recipe later. Be Blessed my friend – Josie

Leave a Reply

