Chicken Sausage with Fresh Apples, Parsley & Spices

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone………tis’ the season to make lots of awesome food fa-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la (I’m singing to you lol)

I made another batch of sausage a couple of nights ago for my baby sister Gloria.  This recipe was shared by one of my fellow You Tubers – Emoneyblue.  This Chicken Sausage with fresh Apples, Parsley & Spices is off the charts good!  I had to make a few changes to Emoneyblue recipe.  When I started making his recipe and realized I had one egg and his recipe calls for 6 egg whites.  So I had to use the one and only egg I had in my fridge.  I had Egg Beaters so I used that as an egg substitute.  Emoneyblue’s recipe called for Panko bread crumbs.  I didn’t have any Panko in my pantry so I substituted the Panko for 1/2 cup of Oats. I can’t believe I didn’t have any eggs or Panko ugh!  Here’s the “Chicken Sausage with Fresh Apples, Parsley & Spices” recipe.  I made different sizes; small breakfast links, large links, one patty and a small link (for the cook)! Everything is ready to cook.  Thanks Emoneyblue for sharing this great recipe.  My sister loved it!

IMG_2078

4lbs chicken mixed (skinless breast, legs-bone in with skin

and thighs-bone in with skin)

1 teaspoon season salt

2 teaspoons onion powder

2 teaspoons kosher salt

2 teaspoons poultry seasoning

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon sage

1/2 teaspoon rosemary

pinch red pepper flakes(more if you like it hotter)

2 teaspoons garlic herb seasoning

2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped

1/2 cup Oats

*1 gala apple, diced small

*1 granny smith apple, diced small

*(you can use your favorite apple)

1 large egg

3/4 cups egg beaters

In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients together.  Mix until well combined.  Put ingredients in the fridge until you are ready to use it. I placed my chicken in the freezer for about 45 minutes.  Partially frozen chicken is a lot easier to cutup.  Using a sharp knife, cut the skinless chicken breast into small cubes.  Cut the chicken leg meat and thigh meat off the bone. Leave the skin on the legs and thighs – this will add a little “fat” to the sausage. I put the leg and thigh bones into a Ziploc bag and stored them in the freezer.  I will use those bones to make homemade chicken broth later this week.  I didn’t take pictures of grinding the chicken.  As before, I needed both of my hands for the grinding process! After all the chicken was ground up, I mixed it together with the spice mix.  I put the ground chicken in a mixing bowl.  I used a mixing paddle and mixed the chicken thoroughly with my Kitchen Aid mixer. Here’s the finished “Chicken Sausage with Fresh Apples, Parsley & Spices” ready to cook!

IMG_2073

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Shared Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Chicken Sausage with Fresh Apples, Parsley & Spices”

  1. November 27, 2014 at 9:39 pm #

    I have only tried chicken sausage once without much success. I will have to give this recipe a try.

    • November 27, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

      please do it’s really tasty. Still waiting on my sausage stuffer……is it December 1st yet lol….

  2. January 5, 2015 at 11:30 am #

    Cooked more of your great “Chicken Sausage with Fresh Apples” last weekend. Gave the sausage a quick brown, added a 16oz jar of rinsed and drained sauerkraut, 2T chopped onion, 1/4 cup chopped apple and 1tsp. caraway seeds. Cover and simmer for 20 to 30 min.
    Yum.

    • January 5, 2015 at 5:36 pm #

      WOW Pat…………that sounds amazing. I will have to try this recipe – thanks for sharing it. what kind of apples did you use??

Leave a Reply

