Making Clarified Butter

Tis’ the season for lots of holiday baking and great food!

Today I made a jar of Clarified Butter and I was pleasantly surprised how good it turned out this time.  I made a jar about a month ago and ended up throwing it away. It kept clouding up and eventually it turned into a soft white milky scary looking substance……YIKES!  That’s what I get for using a cheap unknown brand of butter.  This time I used a quality brand of butter and the results were great!

When you melt butter over low heat it will break down into 3 layers; on top – a white foamy froth or the whey protein; the milk solids (a creamy solid) will drop to the bottom of your pan and that beautiful golden liquid in the middle – is the Clarified Butter! Can’t wait to try my Clarified Butter in some sautéed veggies tonight! Clarified Butter is great for frying because it has a high smoke point and it doesn’t burn. Here’s how I made Clarified Butter.

I started with 3 sticks of quality butter.

IMG_2182

I added the butter in a heavy sauce pan over LOW heat and melted it real slow.

IMG_2181

IMG_2184

When my butter started to melt I gently skimmed the foamy froth from the top. I spooned it to a small bowl. Take your time with this step and be patient.

IMG_2188 IMG_2187

I added a piece of cheesecloth in a strainer over a glass measuring bowl.  I slowly strained my Clarified Butter through the cheesecloth.

IMG_2195 IMG_2196

When you strain the Clarified Butter through cheesecloth, the remaining whey protein (foamy froth) will be caught in the cheesecloth.

IMG_2201

The milk solids (the creamy solid stuff) will drop to the bottom of your pan.

IMG_2199

Here’s what is left……a beautiful golden liquid ready to use for; dipping a delicate piece of lobster or sautéing some great veggies.  I’m going to mix some of my Clarified Butter with peanut oil and fry up a batch of delicious chicken wings……….my favorite football munchie!

IMG_2202

Tags: , ,

Categories: Shared Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Making Clarified Butter”

  1. December 29, 2014 at 11:26 pm #

    Nicely done Josie!

    • December 29, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

      hey my friend :o) thanks for your comment. thanks for stopping by my blog. Be blessed and be safe!

Leave a Reply

