My Sausage Tasting Party

Happy Monday!

On December 1st I received my new sausage stuffer.  A week later I received; my meat grinder, a vacuum sealer w/bags, a scale and a few miscellaneous items I needed.  I have been making sausage like crazy these past few weeks.  My sisters call me the “Sausage Queen” lol.  Checkout my new sausage making toys below……………now it’s time to make some sausage!

IMG_2109

Mr. Jack Daniels No. 7 is for the cook!!!

IMG_2209

When I started making sausage, I managed to fill-up both of my freezers with delicious homemade sausage!

Full Freezer

I thought to myself, “Josie, what are you going to do with all this sausage?” So I decided to have a “Sausage Tasting Party” on December 14th.  I invited my catering customers and lots of dear friends.  I made Sweet Italian Sausage, Savory Chicken Sausage, Maple Breakfast Links, Beef Hotlinks, and Beef/Applewood Bacon Sliders!  My “Sausage Tasting Party” was a fun evening that made my heart smile!

Purchasing meat at my favorite butcher shop. The owners of Village Meat & Wine Tim & Chemaine.  “Special Thanks” Tim and Chemaine for your amazing meat products, answering all of my annoying meat questions, being here for me and helping me get through this very difficult year – I love you guys!

Checkout Village Meat & Wine located in the Village East Plaza on Tropicana & Eastern, Las Vegas, Nevada. Their phone number (702) 736-7575, website http://www.villagemeatandwine.com  Village Meat & Wine was voted #1 Meat Market in Las Vegas.  Make sure you checkout their awesome wine collection, gourmet cheeses and cigars!

IMG_2205

Chemaine ringing up my meat order.

IMG_2208

First batch of Chicken Sausage done, tagged, vacuum bagged and ready for the freezer!

IMG_2210

Roasting peppers for my homemade pasta sauce.

IMG_2225 IMG_2228

Sautéing sweet red onions – topping for the Beef/Applewood Bacon Sliders

IMG_2230 IMG_2231

Sophie laying on her very cozy bed in the living room watching me work and napping……..gotta love “the beagle” LOL.

IMG_2233

Maple Breakfast Links and Beef Hotlinks done, tagged, vacuum bagged and ready for the freezer!

IMG_2216

IMG_2221

Preparing the Sweet Italian Sausage – getting it ready for my homemade pasta sauce. Forgot to take more pics of my Sweet Italian Sausage ;o(

IMG_2236

Made myself a sample sandwich; Sweet Italian Sausage on a roll with melted mozzarella cheese and topped with roasted peppers.  My Sweet Italian Sausage is packed full of flavor and it is off the chart delicious!

IMG_2123

IMG_2126

IMG_2125

Look who woke up (hungry) when Mom started tasting sausage ……………….”the beagle” LOL!

IMG_2219

Setting up for my Sausage Tasting Party – can’t wait for my guest to arrive!

IMG_2255

IMG_2256

 

IMG_2258

First guest to arrive – my sister-friend Sonya and her husband Len (who was standing behind me when I was taking this photo).  Thanks Len for your amazing appetizer – Stuffed Peppadew Peppers and the recipe – I love you guys.  Thanks Monte and Dorothy for the delicious Christmas fudge.  Monte, a special thanks to you for GROWING and sharing your blood oranges and Meyer lemons with me. God certainly blessed you with a Green Thumb my friend! Thanks everyone for all the great wine!

IMG_2254

I didn’t take pictures after my Sausage Tasting Party started.  All I can say is, it was an amazing evening with plenty of delicious homemade sausage and lots of great wine!  I give all “Thanks to God” for a blessed evening with my dear friends.  “Special Thanks” to all of my friends who offered me love and support these last 11 months.  I love you All.

Warm Blessings and Happy New Year!

Josie and Sophie “the beagle”

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Making Homemade Sausage, Remembering a Special Day

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “My Sausage Tasting Party”

  1. December 29, 2014 at 4:47 pm #

    I must say, you do know how to throw a party!

    • December 29, 2014 at 7:48 pm #

      for sure………….heck I don’t need a reason to throw a good “foodie” party! Next time you and Gwenda are in town stop by – me and Sophie will throw you two a foodie party! Happy New Year my friend. Josie and Sophie

  2. December 29, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

    I am soooo jealous. Did you or are you doing video? I have only made sausage once (a long time ago) and that was to make Scotch Eggs. Breakfast sausage was unavailable in the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyzstan) so I had to make my own while I was living there.

    • December 29, 2014 at 11:41 pm #

      I haven’t made a video of my sausage making process YET! I just started making sausage a couple months ago. I won my first National Food Contest in October. My Win came with a wonderful gift certificate from Amazon……so I purchased my sausage making toys lol…….don’t be jealous my friend!

    • December 30, 2014 at 12:02 am #

      Phil I forgot to tell ya…….the Jameson and pickle juice was a big hit at my Sausage Tasting Party!

    • February 3, 2016 at 2:26 pm #

      Hey Phil, I tried to comment on your newest video on YouTube and it wouldn’t allow my comment. Do you know why that is? I was able to comment on one but not the other. ;o(( Let me know what’s up. Josie

Leave a Reply

