My trip to Mentor Minnesota……….

In the photo above (right) my beautiful mother-in-law LilyAnn Roed and her sister (left) Hazel Roed.  Rest in peace Aunt Hazel and Uncle C.

Last week I broke my golden rule about traveling to Minnesota in the winter time.  This trip was a very necessary one and a trip I would not have missed for the world.  I traveled to Mentor, Minnesota for the funeral of Carlton (Uncle C) and Hazel Roed.  It was a very sad trip for me for two reasons; I would be making that trip without Jerry and I would be saying goodbye to Uncle C and Aunt Hazel. The day after the funeral, cousin Bruce and his wife Deb drove me to Detroit Lakes to visit with my mother-in-law.  That was the highlight of my trip.  Mom LilyAnn is living in a very nice senior assisted living home.  Seeing her made my heart smile.  Mom LilyAnn has lost most of her eye sight but not her charm and sense of humor.  She had us laughing out loud talking about how she fussed at anyone who came close to her door! She said, “If they come close to my door them I going to fuss at them and I don’t care who they are!” After her comment she would laugh out loud and we would too…….

There were times when Mom LilyAnn would get a little confused with her thought process but all-in-all she was in good spirits. Mom is so soft spoken and at times I had a hard time hearing her words.  Every time she would say something and laugh out loud I would laugh too. Most of the time I didn’t know what we were laughing about but that didn’t matter. We stayed until dinner time.  When it was time to go, I gave her a big hug and told her I loved her.  She hugged me back and said, “I love you too sweetheart.”  At times, Mom LilyAnn would get confused and she would have a hard time remembering things and people. I truly believe she remembered me at that moment because she called me “sweetheart”……….in years past she always called me sweetheart.  Here’s a pic of me and my sweet mother-in-law LilyAnn Roed

IMG_3062

This is my favorite photo of Jerry and his Mom. This photo was taken years ago at my sister-in-law’s house I was looking out of her kitchen window.

I thank GOD I was able to capture this very precious moment in time.

M4034S-4211

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Things to Remember

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

