Making Compost……….

Today was shopping day. I purchased all of the veggies and fruits for my Green Drinks this week. As always, I washed, rinsed, sliced and diced all of my produce at one time.  If I don’t do this all at one time chances are I won’t do it :o((

IMG_3496 IMG_3497

I like to zest my lemons and store the zest in my freezer.  I always have fresh lemon zest in the freezer for recipes that calls for lemon zest.  Sometimes I trim my lemons and save the peels for skin care use.

IMG_3492

I love to add fresh lemon peels to my bath water. The natural oil in lemon peels  really softens your skin. I remember one time I was filling the bath tub up with really warm water, lots of bubbles and fresh lemon peels.  I had my reading glasses next to; my magazines and a glass of wine.  I was getting ready for a nice relaxing bath.  Jerry happened to go into the bathroom and when he came out he said, “Ah babe, why do you have all that garbage in your bath water?”  I laughed and said, “It is not garbage it’s fresh lemon peels.”  Then in that Jerry Roed calm soft voice he said, “Ok, but why are the lemon peels in your bath water?”  I laughed out loud and thought, “Geez, no need trying to explain this to him”………………..men!

 I like to use fresh lemon juice on my face to get rid of the dark spots left from acne.  Here’s what I do:  squeeze a fresh lemon into a small bowl.  Using a cotton ball, I apply an appropriate amount to my face, gently massage it in a circular motion into the dark acne area. I like to leave the lemon juice on my face for 10 – 15 minutes.  The skin will tingle as the lemon juice seeps deep into pores. I rinse my face with warm water and let my skin dry for 30 minutes before applying any skin care product. I do this treatment twice a month or when needed.  Ok lets get back to “Making Compost” shall we LOL……….

Composting is a natural process of recycling organic material such as leaves and vegetable scraps into a rich soil. 

After I trimmed all of my veggies, I placed all of the trimmings in my Nutri Bullet and pulverized it.

IMG_3502IMG_3512

After I pulverized the trimmings, I added it to a pot of garden soil and mix until trimmings were well mixed into the soil.

IMG_3514IMG_3515

I put the pot of soil in my garden.  I will water and turn the soil every couple of days until pulverized veggies become part of the soil.  When the soil is dark and rich I will incorporate it into my garden!

IMG_3517

I do believe the reason why my garden is growing so well this year is because of my homemade compost!

IMG_3518

IMG_3362

Make sure you are drinking enough water and keeping your body hydrated. This is one of my favorite water drinks; Dasani water, orange slices, lemon slices and diced cucumbers.

IMG_3498

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Making Compost

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

