Lunch Quick and Easy – Chorizo Chili Cups

Happy Thursday!

I knew this week was going to be a busy week for me so I planned ahead.  A couple of days ago I made a batch of homemade Chorizo Chili. I don’t know about you, but I cannot make a small batch of chili. Every time I make chili, I end up with enough chili to feed a small country!  No worries, because I measured out my chili into single servings and I will freeze it! Now I have a freezer full of Chorizo Chili lol…….

 IMG_3844  I searched my fridge for ingredients to make my Chorizo Chili Cups.  Here’s what I found; green leaf lettuce, half of an avocado, gluten free corn tortillas, sharp cheddar cheese, pepper jack cheese, pickled peppers, a white onion, a Roma tomato, my chorizo chili and I found some sour cream tucked in the back of my fridge.

IMG_3819

I preheated my oven to 375 degrees.  I placed 2 corn tortillas in *fluted baking pans.  These pans are great for baking large flour tortilla bowls also.  I didn’t have any flour tortillas for this recipe so I used what I had on hand. *If you don’t have any of these cool fluted baking pans, you can bake your tortillas on an UNGREASED baking pan or cookie sheet pan.

   IMG_3824IMG_3826

While my tortillas were baking, I added my Chorizo Chili to a small saucepan along with 2 tablespoons of salsa and warmed it through.

IMG_3828

I sliced and diced all of my ingredients and shredded the cheese.

IMG_3830

I baked my corn tortillas for 8-10 minutes and they were crispy and lightly browned.  When the tortillas are done, they will curl up around the edges and look like this.

IMG_3831

I added a tablespoon of salsa on each tortilla

IMG_3833

 I added Chorizo Chili, shredded cheese and splashed hot sauce on each.

IMG_3835

I topped my Chorizo Chili Cups with the rest of ingredients and a dollop of sour cream.  I added my diced avocado on the side.

IMG_3836

IMG_3838

IMG_3840

I had lunch at my desk today and it was fantastic…………..see empty plate!

IMG_3842

Checkout this video I made in 2012 – “Tortilla Chili Cups”

follow this link

“Always make time to make something good to eat”

Tags: , ,

Categories: Quick and Easy Lunch, Time Saving Meals

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

