Football Munchie Time!

First Preseason Football Game Day on Sunday!

I can hardly contain my excitement waiting for the first preseason football game to come on!  In staying with my “Sunday Football” tradition, you know I had to make myself some chicken wings! Today, I decided to make Sweet Orange Marmalade Glazed Chicken Wings and Veggie Chow Mein Noodle Stir Fry.  I had some sautéed cabbage and caramelized onions leftover from last night’s dinner. I will incorporate those veggies into my stir fry……should be pretty tasty!  Here’s how I made my Sweet Orange Marmalade Glazed Chicken Wings and Veggie Chow Mein Noodle Stir Fry!

I had 4 hours to kill before the football game started so I brined my chicken wings.  I filled a medium pot with cold water and added the following ingredients;

1 tablespoons kosher salt

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce

1 teaspoon Chinese Five Spices

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon granulated garlic

I whisked the ingredients together and sat aside while I prepared my chicken wings.

IMG_4418

I trimmed the excess fat and skin from my chicken wings.  This is MY personal preference – you don’t have to trim yours if you don’t want too.  After I trimmed my wings, I cut a small slit on top of the drummets.  Then I made a small slit between each bone of the flat part of my wings.  Adding small cuts will help my brine favor the wings.  I started with 3lbs of wings.

 IMG_4423

IMG_4422

I added wings to the brine and covered with a lid – I placed my pot in the fridge for 2 hours.

IMG_4424

While my wings were brining I prepared the Sweet Orange Marmalade Glaze.  I added the following ingredients to a small sauce pan;

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons Sweet Orange Marmalade

1 teaspoon low sodium soy sauce

5 tablespoons of hot sauce

I placed a small sauce pan over low heat.  I added Sweet Orange Marmalade and butter to the pan.

orange marmalade and butter

When the Sweet Orange Marmalade and butter was melted, I whisked in low sodium soy sauce and hot sauce.  I covered the sauce pan with a lid and sat it aside.

marmalade and butter melted

marmalade and butter melted hotsauce added

After I made my Sweet Orange Marmalade Sauce, I mixed together the dry ingredients (for coating wings).

2 tablespoons *Potato Starch

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon Aleppo Pepper flakes (you can substitute with red pepper flakes)

1/4 teaspoon Chinese 5 Spices

1/2 teaspoon parsley flakes

*I found my Potato Starch at the local Asian Market.  Potato Starch (and the baking powder) will make my wings nice and crispy.

potato starch

I whisked all the dry ingredients together, covered with plastic wrap and sat aside until I was ready to use.

dry ingredients (2)dry ingredients (3)

After 2 hours of brining, I removed my wings from the fridge, rinsed them off with cold water, placed them on a clean kitchen towel and patted dry.

 rinsing wingspatting wings dry

I placed the dried wings in a large bowl and tossed with a splash of olive oil.  The olive oil will help the dry ingredients stick to my wings.

adding olive oil

I added my olive oil coated wings to dry ingredients and tossed together until all the wings were well coated with dry ingredients.

added wing to dry ingredients (3)

I put my wings on a prepared baking sheet pan lined with aluminum foil and a wire rack. I placed my wings in a 400 degree oven turning once after 30 minutes baking time.

add coated wings to prepared baking sheet

Here’s how my wings looked after 30 minutes. I turned my wings once and continued to cook them for 15-20 minutes.  The wings should be done after 1 hour cooking time.

wings after 30 minutes (3)

While my wings were cooking I prepared the noodles.  Here are the noodles I used for my “Chow Mein Noodle Veggies Stir-Fry” I found these noodles (on the Asian isle) at my grocery store.

noodles

I cooked my noodles according to the package instructions (about 4 minutes) and drained.

cooking and straining noodles (1)

cooking and straining noodles (2)

I placed a small sauce pan over medium high heat and added a splash of olive oil.

stir frying veggies (1)

I added some broccoli florets and cooked until softened.

stir frying veggies (2)

I added my sautéed cabbage and onions (leftovers from last night) to the broccoli and cooked until warmed thru.

stir frying veggies (4)

 I tossed my veggies together with a splash of low sodium soy sauce.  Add more if you like – make it to YOUR taste!

stir frying veggies (5)

I added the cooked chow mein noodles and added another splash of low sodium soy sauce to season the noodles.

stir frying veggies (6)

I tossed my veggies together……Chow Mein Noodles Veggie Stir-Fry done!  I had to taste it and I was pleasantly surprised by the savory flavor.  I love veggie stir fry. It’s a great way to cook up leftover veggies!

stir frying veggies (7)

Now back to my chicken wings…….After 1 hour baking time, I removed my wings from the oven and placed them in a stainless steel bowl. Make sure you use a heat resistant bowl because the wings are going to be super hot right out of the oven.

add wings to bowl and toss with sauce (2)

I poured the Sweet Orange Marmalade Glaze over (hot) wings and tossed until all the wings were covered with this amazing glaze. Too bad your computer screen isn’t scratch-n-sniff because these wings smell AMAZING!

add wings to bowl and toss with sauce (3) add wings to bowl and toss with sauce (6)

The moment of truth……time to eat!

IMG_4483

Ready just in time for the first preseason game woo-hoo! These Sweet Orange Marmalade Glazed Wings are sweet, tangy, tender, crispy and delicious.  Give this recipe a try it will not disappoint.  I have leftovers for three more dinners. Thank you Lord for the leftovers!

IMG_4482 IMG_4489

I am still trying to raise funds for my catering expansion project.  Please go to My We Share Crowd Funding Project Page for more details http://goo.gl/2sFlFD. Feel free to share my link with others. Your kindness and support will be greatly appreciated.  Warm Blessings,

Josie

Tags: , ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Side Dishes, Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Football Munchie Time!”

  1. Indy
    August 11, 2015 at 12:28 am #

    Looks so yummy!!

    • August 11, 2015 at 9:43 am #

      Indy – they were really tasty! Great recipe to make with the girls. The Orange Marmalade really evens outs the heat from the hot sauce. The girls (and Big J) would love these wings! Thanks for stopping by. xoxoxo Me

Leave a Reply

