Bloody Mary Chicken Wings with Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce

I love football season because it gives me an excuse to eat lots and lots of chicken wings! My mission during football season is; to come up with new chicken wings recipes that are NOT fried.  All of my  wings recipes will be oven roasted, grilled or smoked.  Oven roasted, grilled or smoked chicken wings are better for your waistline right…… ha-ha!  Ok, maybe wings are not on the food pyramid…well they should be.  It’s football season for crying out loud!  There are a gazillion recipes on-line for Vodka marinated chicken wings.  My Bloody Mary Chicken Wings are over the top in flavor.  As a matter of fact, my Bloody Mary Chicken Wings should be on the food pyramid with my picture next to it because they are just that good!

josies_pyramidv4

(graphics by Fred Hagenbeck of Sunkist Graphics – thanks Fred for your awesome graphic!)

Here’s my version of the best-chicken wings-recipe-you will-ever-wrap-your-lips around. Wait until you see my next chicken wings recipe…..!

For maximum flavor, I marinated my chicken wings and prepared my Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce the night before.  Here’s my recipe.

 Bloody Mary Chicken Wings with Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce

4lbs. chicken wings

4 cups cold water

4 cloves garlic, smashed

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce

1  cup plus 1/4 cup orange juice

2 tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce

2 tablespoons seasoned rice vinegar

1/4 cup Vodka (oh yeah)

Mix all the ingredients together in a large glass bowl.  I like to trim off the excess skin from my drummets.  This is MY personal preference.  You don’t have to trim yours if you don’t want to. After I trimmed my wings, I put them in the marinade and covered with plastic wrap. Marinade overnight for maximum flavor.

marinating wings

The next day, I prepared the dry ingredients for my chicken wings.

 Chicken Wings Dry Ingredients

2 tablespoon Potato Starch (I purchased the Potato Starch from my local Asian market)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon Aleppo Pepper Flakes (you can substitute with red pepper flakes)

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon celery salt

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Whisk all the ingredients together in a mixing bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and set aside until you are ready to use.

dry ingredients

I prepared my Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce the night before.  This is a great recipe from my cookbook, “The Roed to Good Cooking” – Pork & Shrimp Cigars with Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce.  I tweaked this recipe just a bit to make it work for my chicken wings.

great recipe

Bloody Mary Cocktail Dipping Sauce

Here’s my supporting cast for this recipe

bloody mary ingredients

1 cup chili sauce

1 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons horseradish sauce

2 tablespoons Wasabi Sauce

1 tablespoon Mayo

2 tablespoons Vodka

zest and juice from 1 fresh lime

1/8 teaspoon celery salt (not in this picture)

1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

Mix all ingredients together in a medium bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and store in the fridge until you are ready to use.

After my chicken wings marinated overnight, I removed them from the marinade,  placed them on a wire rack (in a sheet pan) and patted dry with a paper towel. DO NOT RINSE THE WINGS because you want all that marinating flavor to stay on the wings.

dab with a papertoweldried wings on wire rack

I put the dried wings in a bowl and added a splash of extra virgin olive oil – this will help my dry ingredients stick to the wings. Toss wings in the olive oil making sure all the wings are well coated.

adding olive oil

I added my wings to the dry ingredients and, tossed making sure all the wings were coated with dry ingredients.

dry ingredients and wings (1) dry ingredients and wings (2)

I placed my wings on another prepared baking sheet lined with aluminum and a wire rack.  I sprayed the wire rack with cooking spray.  This will make the wings easier to turn during the cooking process.  I placed my wings in a 400 degree oven and turned once during the cooking process.

Here’s what my wings looked like after 30 minutes baking time.

wings after 30 minutes baking

Here’s how my wings looked after 1 hour total cooking time, They were crispy and delicious.  You would swear they were fried!

finished wings

Serve with fresh limes slices, Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce and Veggies of your choice.

  my football munchies 2

Squeeze fresh lime juice over the wings and Enjoy!

img_7304

Serve with the Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce….this sauce is off the hook GOOD!

img_7306

My Spicy Bloody Mary Cocktail and veggies.  Now I’m ready for some football….

My serious Bloody Mary 8-22

I am still trying to raise funds for my catering expansion project.  Feel free to share my link with others. Your kindness and support will be greatly .  Go to this link for more detailed information http://wp.me/p4AV80-Mc

Warm Blessings,

Josie Roed

Tags: ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers, Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Bloody Mary Chicken Wings with Bloody Mary Dipping Sauce”

  1. Lori
    August 29, 2015 at 5:50 pm #

    Just found your post on the smoking forum and now I’m drooling for a Bloody Mary and your wings! Can’t wait to try ’em!

    • August 29, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

      LOL Lori – so sorry you are drooling for a Bloody Mary and wings! Solution to that problem…….make both! Stop by again soon and checkout my NEXT chicken wings recipe! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  2. Claudia
    August 29, 2015 at 10:36 pm #

    I can’t wait to try this recipe.

    • August 30, 2015 at 9:55 am #

      You’re gonna love these Mamasita Claudia. Thanks for stopping by and FOLLOWING my blog.
      Mamasita Josie!

Leave a Reply

