Cherry Cola Glazed Chicken Wings…….

This is one of my favorite chicken wings recipe.  My Cherry Cola Glazed Chicken Wings are sweet, spicy and tangy with just the right amount of heat.  Your family (and guests) will love these wings.  Serve them with; a savory side dish, fresh veggies, a bowl of the Cherry Cola Glaze and several ice cold libations!  I grilled some baby back ribs a few weeks ago and finished them off with this Cherry Cola Glaze. My ribs were outrageously delicious and enjoyed by all!  Here’s my Cherry Cola Glazed Chicken Wings! This recipe is for 5-6lbs of chicken wings so invite a few  friends over to help you eat them……..or not!

Preparing the Cherry Cola Glaze

Here’s my supporting cast of ingredients for this awesome glaze.

glaze ingredients

48 oz. Cherry Cola (pictured below)

1 cup *strawberry preserves

1 cup *red raspberry preserves

2/3 cups Dijon mustard

3 tablespoons Malt Vinegar

3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

1/4 cup of your favorite hot sauce

1 tablespoon horseradish sauce

*I make my own strawberry preserves and red raspberry preserves – you can use store bought preserves if you must :o)

Put all the ingredients in a glass bowl.  Whisk together until well combined.  Cover with plastic wrap and set aside until you are ready to add to the reduced cherry cola.

whisking ingredients together

Add 48 oz. of cherry cola to a medium sauce pan over medium high heat.

cherry cola reducing

Reduce the cherry cola down by half.  This should take about 30 – 45 minutes.

reduced by half

When the cherry cola has reduced down by half add the preserves/spice mixture.  Stir until it is well incorporated with the cherry cola. Simmer the Cherry Cola Glaze for another 30 minutes.  It will thicken slightly.

adding spicy ingredients

cherry glaze simmering (3)

Dry ingredients for chicken wings

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup instant mashed potatoes flakes

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl – set aside while you prepare the chicken wings

mix dry ingredients

Preparing the chicken wings

5-6lbs. WHOLE chicken wings (tips removed)

3 tablespoons melted butter

I like to trim off the excess skin from my wings.  This is MY personal preference. Plus it will allow all the amazing flavors to really penetrate the meat.  I like to taste the chicken not all that rubbery skin…..just saying! You don’t have to trim yours if don’t want too.   Here’s how I trimmed my wings.

trimmed skin off wings

I cut the wing tips off, put them in a vacuum sealed bag and will save them for homemade chicken broth.

saved wing tips (1)

Back to the preparing the wings – after I trimmed all of my chicken wings, I rinsed them with cold water, patted dry and tossed them in 3 tablespoons of melted butter. The butter will make my dry ingredients stick to the wings.

adding wings to melted butter (2)

I added HALF of my dry mixture to the chicken wings.  I will save the other half.

adding dry ingredients

Saved half of the dry ingredients for my NEXT batch of wings!

reserved dry ingredients

Toss the wings until they are covered with the dry mixture. Place coated wings on a wire rack in a sheet pan lined with aluminum foil.  My wings went into a 400 degree oven for 40 minutes.

floured wings on wire rack (1)

After 40 minutes, I removed my wings from the oven and turned. I continued to cook my wings for another 20 minutes until they were golden brown.  After 1 hour cooking time, I removed my wings from the oven and put them in a stainless steel bowl.  I added 3 spoons full of glaze over the wings and tossed until all my wings were well coated.

wings in glaze and toss (2)

wings in glaze and toss (4)

Make sure you brush that glaze (left in bowl) on the wings. I put my wings back into the oven for a few minutes or,  just long enough for the glaze to cook into my wings. I removed my wings from the oven and let them rest for 5 minutes before serving.

leftover glaze in bowl coat wings (2)

I had some Cherry Cola Glaze leftover so, I portioned it out into 3 batches for; 3 more batches of chicken wings or 3 batches of baby back ribs! I put my glaze in a vacuum sealed bag and will freeze it.  I always have Cherry Cola Glaze on hand.

leftover cherry cola glaze (1)

Here’s my finished “Cherry Cola Glazed Chicken Wings” served with Sliced Carrots and extra Cherry Cola Glaze”. Your family and friends will love this recipe.  The kids will love it too because it’s sweet and tangy.  The sweet really mellows out the heat. If you like your wings hot just add a big splash of hot sauce…….Now I’m ready for some football!

money shot finished wings

finished wings and coleslaw (9)

money shot dipping wings

I am still trying to raise funds for my catering expansion project.  Please go to My We Share Crowd Funding Project Page for more details http://goo.gl/2sFlFD. Feel free to share my link with others. Your generous support will be greatly appreciated.  Warm Blessings,

Josie Roed

Tags: , ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers, Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Cherry Cola Glazed Chicken Wings…….”

  1. LVClaudia1@aol.com
    September 1, 2015 at 3:39 pm #

    Sounds good I have to bring a dish to aparty on Thursday and this will surely be one of a kind. Yay!!!

    • September 1, 2015 at 4:17 pm #

      these wings will be a big hit at your Thursday party. Enjoy sis Claudia!

  2. Pat
    September 7, 2015 at 8:55 am #

    You are amazing Sis! Thanks for sharing. Love & Kisses.

    • September 7, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

      thanks sis – next time I make my Cherry Cola Glaze Chicken Wings – I will send you some! Be Blessed and thanks for stopping by. SIs Jo

Leave a Reply

