Roasting Bell Peppers……….

I am amazed how much people will pay for roasted peppers at the store .  I looked at the price of a jar of roasted peppers, shake my head and say to myself, “No Thanks, I will make my own roasted peppers!”  For the price of ONE small jar of roasted peppers, I purchased 12 FRESH bell peppers from my local Mexican Market. Homemade Roasted Bell Peppers taste so much better.  Plus roasting bell peppers removes all the chemicals that might still be on the skin of the peppers and, it removes all  that waxy/shiny stuff the produce people put all over our produce….ugh!

One day, I asked the produce guy at my local grocery store, “Why do you guys put all that waxy/shiny stuff all over the produce?”  The produce guy replied, “It makes the produce look really nice and appealing to our customers.” Now I started giving this guy the evil eye.  Then I said (as politely as I could), “Are you kidding me? People really like that crap on their produce?  Well, I think it is a pain-in-the-butt plus, it is almost impossible to scrub that crap off of my produce.”  That poor guy knew he had said the wrong thing to the wrong person lol. We continued to talk for a few more minutes. He asked for my name and said he would talk to the produce manager about my complaint. He said, “I have bell peppers in the back Mrs. Roed that don’t have the waxy/shiny stuff on it yet.  Would you like some?”   I said, “Yes of course that would be great thanks.”  After our brief conversation, I did apologize for chewing him out.  I know he was just doing what he was directed to do.  Now when I see him in the produce department, he always says cheerfully, “Hey Mrs. Roed, whatcha looking for today?  Now, that’s great customer service!

Roasted Bell Peppers taste amazing on homemade pizza’s (pictured below), in pasta sauce, salads, stir fry’s and anything else I want to add a great flavor kick to!  Take the time and make your own Roasted Bell Peppers………..you will be glad you did!

Roasting Fresh Bell Peppers

I had 12 bell peppers to roast so, I roasted my peppers in two batches. I roasted my bell peppers until they were blackened, charred and blistered.

IMG_4735

IMG_4734

IMG_4733

I put my roasted bell peppers in a heat resistant stainless steel bowl.

IMG_4738

I covered the bowl with plastic wrap – this will help my peppers sweat.  I let my peppers sweat for 30 minutes.

IMG_4741

After sweating my peppers, I started removing the skin under cold running water.

removing peel and seeds (1)

removing peel and seeds (2)

I took all the seeds and membranes out

 removing peel and seeds (3)

I kept all the tops of my peppers – they will go into the compost pot in my garden.  See “Making Compost, posted April 15, 2015”

for my compost

  I patted all the peppers dry with a paper towel then I sliced them really thin.

peeled peppers

sliced peppers (1)

I put my sliced peppers in a large container and covered with extra virgin olive oil.  I did not add salt or spices to my peppers. I will add salt and spices when I add the peppers to a recipe.

add olive oil to peppers (2)

 Fresh Roasted Bell Peppers ready to use!  I will store my roasted bell peppers in the fridge.

add olive oil to peppers (3)

I made pizza’s yesterday for my Seniors and I used some of my Roasted Bell Peppers.  My pizza’s are made with; my thin pizza crust, homemade pizza sauce, grated mozzarella cheese, caramelized onions, spinach, Roasted Bell Peppers, sliced hard salami and topped with more mozzarella cheese.  My Seniors love my Roasted Bell Peppers Pizza!

IMG_4768

IMG_4773

I am still trying to raise funds for my catering expansion project. Follow this link http://wp.me/p4AV80-Mc

 Thank you in advance for helping me reach my financial goal and making my dream a reality. For your convenience feel free to make your donations at http://www.PayPal.me/TRTGC

Feel free to share my link with others. Your generous support will be greatly appreciated.

Warm Blessings,

Josie Roed

 

Tags: ,

Categories: Helpful Tips, Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

