15 Bean Soup ~ My Winter Comfort Food

The high today was 46 degrees in my neighborhood which is chilly for Las Vegas.  I don’t know about you but when it is this chilly, I love making some hot savory “Comfort Food.” Yesterday, I made a big pot of 15 Bean Soup and it was delish. This is definitely my new favorite soup! Here’s my 15 Bean Soup recipe.  Serve it as a side dish or as an entrée like I did ………Enjoy!

Josie’s 15 Bean Soup Recipe

1 – 20 oz. package dry 15 bean soup (includes a flavor packet)

1  & 1/2 medium white onion, diced small

5-6 cloves fresh garlic, diced small

Kosher salt (to your taste)

Ground black pepper

1 tablespoon Aleppo pepper flakes

1 – *ham bone

1- *smoked pork bone

10 cups cold water

*You can substitute the ham bone and smoked pork bone with smoked ham hocks if you prefer.

Over the last couple of weeks I have made over 40 lbs of pork sausage.  I always buy bone-in pork shoulder for making sausage and pulled pork.  If I am making sausage, I cut the meat off the bone (making sure to leave a little meat on the bone), and save my pork bone for another use.  If I am smoking meat, I will generally smoke the pork shoulder bone and save it for making pork broth, soups or gravy. Oh……and the next time you have baked ham for dinner, make sure you save that ham bone! I will be using my smoked pork bone AND my saved ham bone in this recipe. All thanks to my kids, Indika and John Elliott for giving me that ham bone from our “Family Thanksgiving dinner!”

Dice the onions and fresh garlic ~ set both aside.

IMG_5771 IMG_5779

I soaked my package of 15 Bean Soup in a large bowl full of cold water.  The beans will soak for about an hour in the cold water.

IMG_5769

I added 10 cups of cold water to my Dutch oven pot and placed the pot over medium high heat.

IMG_5774

Once the water came up to a boil, I added the ham bone, smoked pork bone, diced onions, diced garlic, 1 tablespoon Aleppo Pepper flakes and  flavor packet from the 15 Bean Soup.  I’m going to add kosher salt and ground black pepper at the end. I don’t  want to add too much salt at the beginning because the ham bone will impart enough salt for MY taste.

IMG_5784

I had the ham bone and smoked pork bone in vacuumed sealed bags stored in my freezer.  I have been freezing bones forever.  Jerry was so funny.  He would ask, “So babe, why do you have all those bones in the freezer?” He could not understand why I would save bones!  I had to explain it to him many times over the years LOL………

IMG_5777

I reduced the heat to low, covered my pot with a lid and simmered the smoked pork bone and ham bone for about an hour.  Cooking the bones low and slow will impart the most amazing flavor to this 15 Bean Soup recipe.  You can substitute the ham bone and smoked pork bone for smoked ham hocks if you prefer.

IMG_5786

After an hour, I drained the water from the beans and added them to the pot of my “simmering goodness”!

IMG_5791

IMG_5793

I removed my ham bone and left the smoked pork bone in the pot.  I covered my pot (with the lid) and continue to cook for about an hour or until the beans were nice and tender.  I seasoned with kosher salt and ground black pepper to MY taste.

I like to add a splash of hot sauce to my cup of 15 Bean Soup and serve it with buttery Club Crackers and slices of sharp cheddar….my “Cup of Comfort Food” last night was off the charts delish!

IMG_5795

Thank You Lord for this meal………..

finished beans dish

May all your dreams come true in 2016

 Warm Blessings and Happy New Year!

Josie Roed

“The Roed to Good Cooking”

 

 

Tags: ,

Categories: Comfort Food

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “15 Bean Soup ~ My Winter Comfort Food”

  1. January 1, 2016 at 2:18 pm #

    What great looking comfort food soup! Happy New Year!

    The Old Fat Guy

    • January 1, 2016 at 3:15 pm #

      Thanks TOFG……..Happy New Year to you and “She who must be obeyed”. Be blessed my friend. Maybe I will get a chance to come up and visit with you two in 2016!

      • January 1, 2016 at 4:15 pm #

        Great. The smoker is smoking as I speak and there may be a bottle or a dozen of wine around. I might even convert you to Canadian Whiskey!

      • January 1, 2016 at 5:03 pm #

        sounds like a serious plan lol.

Leave a Reply

