Smoked Bacon Wrapped Corn Cobbettes….Great football munchies!

WOW…what a weekend for football playoff games!  I didn’t feel like doing too much of anything yesterday, 1-17-16, because it was the 2 year anniversary of my husband Jerry’s passing.  It is hard to believe it was 2 years ago yesterday Jerry went home to be with our Lord.  I miss him so much everyday. I really miss him at football season because we had a blast on Sundays – eating and watching all of the games!  Jerry was a Vikings fan and I am a Chargers fan.  Jerry made the best Sunday Bloody Mary’s.  I liked mine spicy and he liked his not so spicy lol. We enjoyed our Sundays for sure.  Yesterday, I decided to make a new recipe I know Jerry would have loved. This recipe was made with Jerry’s two favorite foods; corn on the cobb and bacon!

Three of my sister-neighbor-friends stopped by for a “munchie tasting” and they loved these delicious-little-bites-of-goodness!  Sorry I didn’t take step-by-step photos.  No worries, it’s a really easy recipe.  All you need is; corn Cobbettes, thin sliced bacon, vegetable oil spray, your favorite spice rub, and a smoker that’s it.

Smoked Bacon Wrapped Corn Cobbettes

The other day I was shopping at Sam’s Club in the frozen vegetable isle and saw a bag of “Corn Cobbettes”.  Cobbettes are corn on the cobb that are cut in half.  They are a perfect size for me when I am in the mood for corn.

images[1]

I had bacon and corn Cobbettes in my freezer and I thought to myself, “Josie you gotta make something with these two ingredients”  Everyone knows everything taste better wrapped in BACON!”  Here’s how I made this recipe.

I started with a package of thin sliced bacon.  Then I sprayed each Cobbette with vegetable oil spray and sprinkled each generously with my special spice rub. Starting at the end of my Cobbette, I wrapped one slice of bacon around each.  It’s ok if the bacon overlaps. After I wrapped all of my Cobbettes, I sprinkled each with a little more spice rub.  I placed my wrapped Cobbettes in a Bradley rack and placed it on my smoker rack. I smoked ribs yesterday so I used pecan wood for this smoke.

IMG_5881

I smoked my Bacon Wrapped Corn Cobbettes for about 1 1/2 hours. I kept my smoker temp right around 230- 250 degrees. At the end of the smoking time, the bacon was nice and chewy. The Cobbettes were sweet tender and delicious. The Cobbettes also took on the flavor of bacon and pecan wood…………YUM!  Here’s my finished Smoked Bacon Wrapped Corn Cobbettes and they were off the chart with flavor and enjoyed by me and the girls!

IMG_5885

I didn’t take any photos after I took my Cobbettes and ribs off the smoker because they didn’t last that long!  This is a recipe that will not disappoint.  Try it ~ your family will love it!

Be Blessed, Happy Cooking and Smoking!

Josie

Tags: ,

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers, Great Side Dishes, Remembering a Special Day

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Smoked Bacon Wrapped Corn Cobbettes….Great football munchies!”

  1. Angelic Meier
    January 18, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

    lol You know that sounds good! Angelic

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • January 19, 2016 at 7:25 am #

      they are really good Angelic……try em’

  2. Jon Peterson
    January 19, 2016 at 7:09 pm #

    Two years? It seems like yesterday. You’re in my prayers. Wow, you sure know how to make vegetable edible. 🙂 Actually, I like corn by itself.

    Date: Tue, 19 Jan 2016 04:57:31 +0000 To: vanimal1677@hotmail.com

    • January 19, 2016 at 11:24 pm #

      thanks for the prayers my friend. the next time I make this recipe I will let you know. Corn on the cobb is good by itself but it’s better wrapped in BACON! be blessed…..Josie

  3. Raquel OQuinn
    January 21, 2016 at 7:52 am #

    Everything tastes better with bacon!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

