Buffalo Chicken Bites……..My Super Bowl Munchies

Super Bowl Sunday is just around the corner so I started thinking about my Super Bowl munchies.  This year I am going to make “Buffalo Chicken Bites.”  My Buffalo Chicken Bites have all of the same flavors as Buffalo Chicken Wings with a little twist.  My neighbor-friends stopped by with a few beers yesterday.  They tasted my Buffalo Chicken Bites and we all agree – they are a big hit! While we were eating, we also came up with several sides dishes that would pair nicely with my Buffalo Chicken Bites.

Ok, I said awhile back that all of my football munchie recipes would NOT be fried.  I will have to hang my head in shame because my Buffalo Chicken Bites are DEEP FRIED.  This recipe is for the Super Bowl for crying out loud so the extra calories don’t count on Super Bowl Sunday!!! That’s my story and I’m sticking to it LOL. This is an easy recipe your family and friends will love. Enjoy!

A couple of days ago I roasted two whole chickens.  I ate a few pieces the day I made it and the rest I stored in the fridge for today’s recipe. I didn’t have to add a lot of flavoring to my already well seasoned chicken because, it was seasoned perfectly before I roasted it. Here’s how I made my Buffalo Chicken Bites.

1 whole oven roasted chicken, chopped (you can substitute with store bought rotisserie chicken if you want)

1/4 cup Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

1 teaspoon Aleppo Pepper (you can substitute with red pepper flakes – optional)

1/8 cup Sirarcha Hot Chili Sauce

*1  3/4 cups sharp cheddar cheese, freshly grated

1/2 cup scallions, (white and green part) diced small

pinch kosher salt

IMG_5915

*I always buy a block of whatever cheese I am going to use and grate it myself.  That way I know when my cheese was grated.  Fresh grated cheese taste so much better than that stuff you buy already grated.

IMG_5900

I used – 1 whole oven roasted chicken ( you can substitute with store bought rotisserie chicken)IMG_5904

I pulled the skin off and discarded it. I separated the chicken from the carcass and chopped it up in small pieces.

IMG_5910

I will keep the chicken carcass for making chicken broth.  I put the carcass in a vacuum sealed bag, labeled it and will store it in my freezer.

IMG_5908

I added all the ingredients to chopped chicken and mixed together.  The mixture will be moist and you should be able to press it together to form a ball.

IMG_5917.JPG

I used a #30 ice cream scoop to make uniformed balls. I place each ball on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil.

IMG_5918

This recipe should yield 24 uniformed sized balls if you use a #30 ice cream scoop.  I put my Buffalo Chicken Bites in the fridge while I cleaned up my work area.  Placing the chicken balls in the fridge will allow them to setup and make them easier to handle for the next step.

IMG_5921

Here’s how I made my Sirarcha Buttermilk Ranch Dipping Sauce.

1  1/2 cup Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

1/4 cup Sirarcha Hot Chili Sauce (add more if you like it hotter)

pinch of kosher salt

1 tablespoon juice from a fresh lemon

1/4 cup scallions, chopped small

1/4 cup carrots, chopped small

1/4 cup celery, chopped small

IMG_5924

I added the Buttermilk Ranch Dressing and Sirarcha to a small bowl and mixed together. Add the carrots, celery, scallions, lemon juice and kosher salt. Stir together.  Cover with plastic wrap and store in the fridge until ready to use.

IMG_5925

Preparing the deep fryer:

I added canola oil to my small deep fryer.  If you don’t have a small deep fryer, you can use a heavy bottom frying pan. *If using a heavy bottom frying pan, add enough oil to fill the pan about half way (SEE BELOW).  While I was waiting for the oil to heat, I prepared the breading station for my Buffalo Chicken Bites.  Here’s the ingredients I used for my breading station;

1 cup all purpose flour

3 eggs, beaten

2 cups Panko Bread Crumbs

Setup the breading station like this; flour, eggs and Panko bread crumbs

IMG_5931

I lightly coated each chicken ball with flour. The flour will make the eggs stick.  Make sure you shake off the excess flour.

IMG_5933

Dip the floured chicken ball in the eggs.  Roll it around and make sure it is completely covered with egg.

IMG_5934Roll the chicken ball in Panko bread crumbs and place it on the wire rack.

IMG_5935

Let the Buffalo Chicken Bites rest on the wire rack while the oil is heating.

IMG_5937

Time to start deep frying ~ The oil should be heated to 350 degrees F.  Add the Buffalo Chicken Bites one at a time to the hot oil.

IMG_5939.JPG

*If you are using a heavy bottom frying pan, fill the pan to about half with oil.  You will have to turn the balls to make sure they cook evenly.

frying in a deep pan (1)

I cooked my Buffalo Chicken Bites until they were golden brown.

IMG_5941

I drained my Buffalo Chicken Bites on a paper towel. First batch done and ready to eat.

IMG_5944

Serve immediately with the Sirarcha Buttermilk Ranch Dipping Sauce.  I served plain Buttermilk Ranch also.

IMG_5947The girls and I really enjoyed our tasty little treats!

IMG_5949

My neighbor-friends enjoying their treats (left) Maria,(center) Pat, (right) Elaine. This is the only time the girls are quiet ~ when they are eating LOL. There’s never a dull minute with them!

IMG_5950

My empty plate………..YUP they were really good!

IMG_5952

I fried this batch the next day for my neighbor-friends.

paned fried Bites (2)paned fried Bites (1)

Thanks girls for stopping by….I love you all.

Categories: Football Munchies, Great Appetizers, Josie's Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Buffalo Chicken Bites……..My Super Bowl Munchies”

  1. Elaine
    January 25, 2016 at 10:29 am #

    They were sooo good. My new favorites.

    • January 25, 2016 at 10:36 am #

      They are my new favorites also. Thank You girls for joining me on Saturday….lots more sampling parties to come!

Leave a Reply

