Throwback Thursday Recipe – Veggie and Chicken Stir-Fry!

I don’t know about you but I love stir-fry veggies with chicken or shrimp.  Stir-Frying is a great way to get rid of veggies that are going bad. In this bad economic times, who can afford to throw away food. I hate throwing away food. I can usually find a way to use up my old veggies BEFORE they go bad.

This morning I cleaned out my vegetable bin.  I found 3 carrots that had started sprouting green stuff on the top, one green bell pepper that had a few soft dark spots, a half of head of cabbage, 3 stalks of celery, a few white onions and a handful of fresh green beans. I peeled and grated the carrots, sliced the green bell pepper, shredded the cabbage really thin, chopped the celery, sliced the onion and green beans.  I also found; 5 skinless/boneless chicken thighs in my freezer from the last time I made chicken sausage.

My veggies below; 3 carrots, 1 green bell pepper, half of head of green cabbage, 3 stalks celery, white onions and a handful of fresh green beans.  Now I’m ready to make some stir-fry!

IMG_6013

I started with 5 boneless/skinless chicken thighs.  I cut each into bite size pieces and placed in a glass bowl along with;

1/2 cup Teriyaki marinade

1/4 cup sliced white onions

1  1/2 teaspoon Aleppo pepper flakes (can substitute with 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes – optional)

1 teaspoon granulated garlic

1 teaspoon parsley flakes

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Toss ingredients together, cover with plastic wrap and marinate for 4 hours.

IMG_6015

 You will need a wok or a large non-stick frying pan for this recipe.  I put a wok on my stove top burner over high heat.  I added 1 tablespoon of *coconut oil and heated it up until the oil was smoking hot.

*Coconut oil has a multitude of health benefits, which include but are not limited to skin care, hair care, improving digestion and immunity against a host of infections and diseases. The oil is used not just in tropical countries, where coconut plantations are abundant, but also in the US and the UK. People are discovering the wonders this oil can create and it is again gaining popularity throughout the world.

IMG_6016

IMG_6019

I added the chicken pieces a few at a time to the hot oil.

IMG_6021

Cook until the chicken is no longer pink.  Cooking time will vary according to your wok (or your non-stick frying pan).  My chicken took about 8 minutes to cook.

IMG_6024

After cooking time, remove the chicken (and accumulated juices from the wok) and place it in a baking dish.

IMG_6030

Cover the baking dish with a lid and set aside.

IMG_6031

Cook the Chow Mein Noodles according to package instructions.  After cooking time, rinse with cold water, drain and set aside.

IMG_6005 IMG_6006 IMG_6011

Add about 1 tablespoon of coconut oil to the wok.  Heat oil until it starts to smoke slightly. Add celery, bell pepper, onion.

.IMG_6032

Cook veggies until softened ~ about 3-4 minutes.

IMG_6034

Add shredded carrots and green beans.  Cook until warmed through.

IMG_6035

Add a splash of Stir-fry Sauce and Low Sodium Soy Sauce. Toss together until well combined.

IMG_6037

I used two wooden spoons for tossing my veggies.

IMG_6039

Add the shredded cabbage and toss together.

IMG_6040

Add cooked chicken thighs (and the accumulated juices).  Toss together.

IMG_6041

Add the Chow Mein Noodles and toss together.

IMG_6043

After I tossed my stir-fry together, I tasted it and added another splash of Stir-Fry Sauce at the end.

IMG_6044

Serve immediately and enjoy!

IMG_6049

 I am still trying to raise funds for my catering expansion project.  Please go to My We Share Crowd Funding Project Page for more details http://goo.gl/2sFlFD. Feel free to share my link with others. Your kindness and generous support will be greatly appreciated.

Warm Blessings,

Josie Roed

Tags:

Categories: Family Meals, Josie's Recipes, Time Saving Meals

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

