The Roed to Good Cooking Fundraiser

I have always had a passion for cooking and have carried that passion into my adult life. My cooking business, The Roed to Good Cooking, was started out of necessity in 2008 when the economy tanked.

I published my first cookbook, The Roed to Good Cooking by Josie Roed in 2011. My cookbooks are sold on my website and my YouTube cooking channel.  This cookbook, was a labor of love for me and my husband Jerry. We had a great time developing new recipes and eating!  Jerry was my official taste tester, a job he truly loved, and my food photographer.  It took me two years to develop new recipes and revise old family recipes. People ask me all the time, “Josie, what type of food do you feature in your cookbook?” My reply, “Its good cooking that warms your soul.”

I am so thankful and grateful I have a ton of fun memories of my first cookbook project with Jerry.  On January 17, 2014, Jerry passed away suddenly.  Jerry’s passing was such a profound loss for our family and dear friends. Jerry was loved by all who knew him.  This past year was a blur for me with lots of up and down challenges – not an easy year to get through to say the least. However, I managed to stay grounded and strong in my faith.

It took months before I wanted to go back into my kitchen and cook. I hated the thought of cooking for just me. Part of my emotional therapy was getting back into the kitchen. I knew that would bring joy back into my life.

After Jerry passed away suddenly in 2014, I had to make some serious changes to my income stream. For those of you who have been following my food blog, you know I am now getting more into on-site catering. Over the past 12 months, my catering business income has helped support my financial obligations. After careful consideration and fine tuning my immediate needs, I realize there are major changes I need  to make, in order to take my business to the next level.

I will be purchasing a 14′ Concession Food Trailer with the proceeds from this fundraising project.  My Concession Food Trailer will be built out to include; a commercial kitchen full of health department required equipment.  I have a 2014 Chevy, Silverado Truck that could pull a 14′ Concession Food Trailer with no problem.  Purchasing a Concession Food Trailer will allow my business to be completely mobile.  It would also allow me to participate in more events e.g. food fairs, festivals, outdoor music concerts, sporting events and car shows.  I would also be able to provide a mobile food service to construction sights, and large industrial business parks, where fast food places are not conveniently located.

My financial goal: I am looking to raise $40,000 to purchase a 14′ Concession Food Trailer to take my on-site catering business to the next level. Here’s an artist rendering of my catering trailer.

flattened-trailor

The Roed to Good Cooking provides a convenient service to people who enjoy great food! I know my husband, Jerry, would want me to continue on with my cooking business.  With the funds raised; I will be able to take my business to the next level, help other struggling entrepreneurs and create jobs. The Roed to Good Cooking will provide a much needed service in my community.

Thank you in advance for helping me reach my financial goal and making my dream a reality. For your convenience feel free to make your donations at http://www.PayPal.me/TRTGC

Warm Blessings,

Josie Roed

The Roed to Good Cooking

 

 

 

Categories: TRTGC Fundraiser

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “The Roed to Good Cooking Fundraiser”

  1. Cynthia Croker
    February 16, 2016 at 5:33 pm #

    Dear Josie,

    Thank you for this. At the moment funds are tight with weddings. One of our dancers ( who has been with us for 15 years) is getting married in South Carolina. Our youngest son is getting married in British Columbia in July. These two things are draining any extra resources we have.

    Sorry,

    Cynthia

    • February 16, 2016 at 6:30 pm #

      awwww no worries cousin. sounds like your plate is as full as mine! Be Blessed, Josie

  2. Jon Peterson
    February 16, 2016 at 6:23 pm #

    Speaking of fundraisers, I had a dream last night that you texted me and said, “Keep a place holder for me at Design, Dine & Wine.” So I figured I would let you know about it. http://www.fgsls.org/first-good-shepherd-lutheran-church-homepage/ministries-2/youth/#designdinewine It’s this coming Sunday, if you’re interested….actually, it’s this coming Sunday even if you’re not interested. 🙂 Good luck with your food truck fundraiser. Jon

    Date: Wed, 17 Feb 2016 01:01:08 +0000 To: vanimal1677@hotmail.com

    • February 16, 2016 at 6:33 pm #

      Thanks for the dream my friend lol…..sounds like a fun day but I won’t be able to attend. I have a project going on this weekend. thanks for thinking about me anyway. have fun!
      Be Blessed, Josie

Leave a Reply

