My Rib Smoking Marathon – Plagued by Wind and Ash!

Smoked a ton of ribs yesterday for a BBQ fundraiser at my church on Saturday.  I decided to get a head start on the smoking. Yesterday of all days it was super windy on my side of town grrrrrrr I hate when that happens.  Drives me and my smoker nuts!   Anyway late in the afternoon, just as I lifted up the lid of my firebox to tend to the fire, a big gust of wind came up and of course you know what happened next……………ash went everywhere. Awwww the joy of smoking on a “stick burner” :o(

 I can’t get mad at the wind.  It was my fault because, I should have paid closer attention to the ash buildup in my firebox.  I have one of those ash scooper-out-things.  I normally scoop out the ash before it builds up.  Yesterday, I was busy in the kitchen working on side orders and baking goodies………back to my rant………. After several minutes of swearing (I will pray for forgiveness later!), I decided to do something about that annoying ash. I knew desperate measures had to be taken if I didn’t want my “oh so divine swine” to be covered with ash every time I open my firebox lid. So, first I scooped out the ash buildup in my firebox then, I cleverly came up with my best idea ever.  Sometimes a girl has got to improvise lol…….here’s what I came up with;

I covered my grease splatter screen with aluminum

IMG_6464

Then I covered the smoking chamber hole…………ash problem SOLVED!

IMG_6465

I was able to tend to my firebox without having to worrying about that annoying ash going all over my delicious ribs in the smoking chamber.  Also, It was nice to be able to work on my ribs whenever I needed too.  Sometimes you just have to put on your thinking cap and get creative!

IMG_6466

My finished ribs and they are falling-off-the-bone-tender-and-delicious!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t forget to visit my new and improved website.  Go to http://www.theroedtogoodcooking.com

Be Blessed and Keep on Cooking!

Josie Roed

Tags: ,

Categories: Smoking Meat, TRTGC Fundraiser

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “My Rib Smoking Marathon – Plagued by Wind and Ash!”

  1. Elaine Healy
    June 18, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

    Clever idea.  They look great.  Can’t wait for Sun.  Your salsa picture didn’t show on your new home page.

Leave a Reply

