Grilled Chicken Creamy Cheesy Collard Greens and Green Chiles Enchiladas…….It’s Football Sunday!

YAY…it’s football Sunday, my Chargers are playing, and you know I had to make myself some serious football munchies!  I love enchiladas no matter how you cook them LOL.  This enchilada recipe was shared with me by my YouTube buddies Karen and T-Roy. These enchiladas are jammed packed with flavor, lots of cheesy goodness and fresh collard greens!  I must admit, I was a little hesitant about adding fresh collard greens but it really worked in this recipe!  These enchiladas are hearty, cheesy, easy to make, and your family will love them. I would recommend making a double batch…….YES they are that good. Here’s how I made my version of Karen’s recipe;

“Grilled Chicken Creamy Cheesy Collard Greens and Green Chiles Enchiladas”

2 cups shredded COOKED chicken (cooked how you like it)

2 tablespoons salted butter (for cooking onions and collard greens)

2 cups fresh collard greens, WASHED CLEAN and coarsely chopped

1/2 cup onion, diced small (for the sautéing with collard greens)

1/2 cup onion, coarsely chopped (for cooking with the chicken)

1 clove fresh garlic, minced

4 oz. cream cheese, cut into 2 pieces

1/2 cup whole milk

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

pinch red pepper flakes (optional if making this for the kids)

1- 8oz block of Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (and divided)

1 – 8 oz. can Green Chili Enchilada Sauce ( I used HATCH Green Chili Sauce)

1 – small can Fire Roasted Diced Green Chiles ( I used the Ortega brand), **DRAIN AND RESERVE THE JUICE  – SET IT ASIDE

1/2 cup sour cream

1 package corn tortillas (yellow or white)

This recipe called for 2 cups of shredded cooked chicken.   Feel free to use whatever type of cooked chicken you like. I made my recipe with GRILLED  chicken. I cut my chicken in half and seasoned it with my homemade Taco Seasoning (recipe below) for added flavor. I cooked my chicken hot and fast (over medium high heat) for 3 minutes per side until slightly browned.

img_6765

img_6769

After the cooking time, I took my chicken off the grill and placed it in an aluminum pan. I added a little water in the bottom of my pan and added 1/2 cup of chopped onion.

img_6772

I added 3 pats of butter on top of my chicken……everything taste better with BUTTER!

img_6773

**To add a little “spicy kick” – I poured the reserved juice from my Fire Roasted Diced Green Chiles over my chicken.  If you like it hot add some Jalapeno juice (this is optional)

img_6774

I put a meat thermometer probe thru the thigh meat so I can monitor the internal temp.   I covered my pan with aluminum foil and placed it back on my grill – on the top rack. I will cook my chicken to an internal temp of 165 degrees F.

img_6776

  Making the Green Chili Sauce

img_6796

Pour the HATCH Green Chile Sauce into a small glass bowl.  Add 1/2 cup sour cream and the DRAINED Fire Roasted Diced Green Chiles.  Mix until well combined.  Cover the bowl and put it into the fridge until ready to use.

Making the Creamy Collard Greens mixture

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a large sauce pan over medium heat. Add 1/2 cup chopped onions and 1 clove of minced garlic.  Cook veggies until softened.

img_6788

Add washed/chopped collard greens to the sautéed veggie mixture.

img_6792img_6793

Reduce the heat to low.  Cover pan with a lid and let the collard greens cook down until softened about 8-10 minutes.

img_6794

After cooking time, stir in 4 oz. cream cheese, 1/2 cup whole milk, 1 teaspoon kosher salt, 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper, and 1/2 cup Monterey Jack shredded cheese. Stir constantly so the mixture won’t stick to the pan.  Cook until warmed through and the cheese is melted.

img_6797-2img_6798img_6799

I removed my collar greens/cheese mixture from the heat (sorry, I didn’t take a picture).  I covered my collard greens mixture with a lid and set it aside while I prepared my Grilled Chicken.

I removed my Grilled Chicken to a platter and let it rest for 10 minutes before I shredded it. After the 10 minutes resting time, my chicken was cool enough to start shredding.  After shredding my chicken, I measured out 2 cups of shredded chicken.  I used my remaining shredded chicken to make some tacos for Monday night Football….

Thank you Lord for this Grilled Chicken!!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I poured all that delicious flavorful pan sauce – through a strainer into a small sauce pan. I  RESERVE the cooked onions from the pan sauce in a bowl.   I will reduce my pan sauce down (by half) to intensify the flavor.  I am NOT going to add any other spice to my pan sauce. FYI – I don’t have a lot of SALT in my dry rub so my pan sauce will not be too salty once it is reduced down.

I added the cooked onions (from the pan sauce) to my collard greens/cheese mixture for more flavor.

img_6800

 

I had to use 2 – 8″x 8″ non-stick baking pans because I broke my 13″ x 9″ baking pan ;o((

I poured some of my reduced pan sauce into the bottom of each baking pan and added a heaping TABLESPOON of my Green Chiles Sauce to each pan.

I had about a tablespoon of the pan sauce leftover so, I mixed it into my Creamy Chicken Collard Greens mixture – adding another layer of flavor!

I used Mission Yellow Corn Tortillas (sorry didn’t take a picture).  You can use YOUR favorite brand of tortillas for this recipe.  I removed 16 tortillas from the package and wrapped them up in a damp paper towel – then I wrapped then in plastic wrap.  I placed my tortillas in the microwave on HIGH until the tortillas were softened, about 1 minute.

After my tortillas were softened, I spooned a heaping spoonful of the Creamy Chicken/Collard Greens mixture into each tortilla.  I rolled each tortilla up tightly and placed them seam side down on top of the reduced pan sauce/green chili sauce. I covered the rolled tortillas with the remaining Green Chiles Sauce and the remaining shredded Monterey Jack cheese. I baked my enchiladas in a preheated 375 degree F oven until the cheese was melted, bubbly and delicious.

img_6804

I like to add shredded lettuce, tomatoes and Pepperoncini’s to my enchiladas.  Garnish your enchiladas with YOUR favorite garnish.  Enjoy!

Time to eat!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Josie’s Homemade Taco Seasoning

1/4 cup Ancho chili powder

2 tablespoon ground Cumin

1 tablespoon corn starch (I used potato starch)

1 tablespoon kosher salt

2 tablespoon paprika

1 tablespoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon dried parsley

1 tablespoon granulated garlic

1 tablespoon granulated onion

1 tablespoon Aleppo Pepper flakes (you can substitute with a PINCH of red pepper flakes

1 tablespoon minced dried onions

Mix all ingredients together until well combined.  Store in a glass jar with a tight fitting lid in a dark place (like your pantry).  If you make tacos using this seasoning, use 2 tablespoons per pound of ground meat….

The Roed to Good Cooking Fundraiser – follow this link for more information http://wp.me/p4AV80-Mc

The Roed to Good Cooking provides a convenient service to people who enjoy great food! I know my husband, Jerry, would want me to continue on with my cooking business.  With the funds raised; I will be able to take my business to the next level, help other struggling entrepreneurs and create jobs. The Roed to Good Cooking will provide a much needed service in the community.

Thank you in advance for helping me reach my financial goal and making my dream a reality. For your convenience feel free to make your donations at http://www.PayPal.me/TRTGC

Warm Blessings,

Josie Roed

The Roed to Good Cooking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , ,

Categories: Family Meals, Football Munchies, Shared Recipes

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

