Brunch Pizza Casserole

This year my birthday fell on Good Friday!

I was overwhelmed by all the birthday wishes and love from my family and dear friends.  I really missed Jerry on my birthday.  I know he was with me in spirit and that made my heart smile.  I also know if Jerry were here, we would be hanging out on the patio, enjoying the beautiful day and sipping on his famous margaritas!  I decided to keep our beautiful tradition going so today, I started my birthday on the patio with Sophie.  She was more than happy to sit on my lap and listen to me read my morning devotion and watch our hummingbirds!

My morning Green Drink Smoothie with “the beagle” sitting on my lap.

IMG_3316IMG_3317

After our breakfast Green Drink on the patio, Sophie and I went inside and played with her fetch toy for an hour.  When all eight of the balls ended up under the couch I said, “Well Sophie girl, guess it’s time to stop for now, because all of your balls are under the couch.”  She gave me that look of disapproval and was not real happy with me at that moment.  I said, “Sophie mommy needs to do some chores right now.  We will play again later.”  I know what you’re thinking……..”Josie, why are you explaining anything to the DOG?”  Well because that’s what dog lovers do………we explain things to our fury buddies!!

After a few hours of house cleaning, I realized I had worked up an appetite. Now I’m thinking, “What’s for lunch Josie?”  I didn’t feel like getting out of the house so, I decided to make the new recipe my neighbor shared with me yesterday.  She found a Breakfast Leftover Pizza Casserole recipe on-line.  When she made it, she gave me a piece and I loved it.  I made myself a gourmet pizza a couple of days ago and, I had some leftover pizza in the fridge.  Along with my leftover pizza, I had some sautéed red onions, roasted red bell pepper, roasted garlic, mozzarella cheese, and Pecorino Romano cheese.  Now I’m ready to make my version of a Breakfast Leftover Pizza Casserole.  Here’s my  “Brunch Pizza Casserole” and it was off the chart good!

IMG_3355

 “Brunch Pizza Casserole” Recipe

3 slices of leftover pizza, cut into small pieces

6 large eggs

1 cup whole milk

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon Aleppo Pepper (can substitute with 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes)

1/4 cup grated Pecorino Romano cheese (or parmesan cheese)

1  1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, divided

1/3 cup sautéed red onions (use raw onions if you prefer)

1/2 cup roasted red bell pepper, sliced

3 cloves of roasted garlic, minced

softened butter (for greasing the pan)

You will need a 9 x 12 baking pan, measuring cup, a whisk and aluminum foil.  Here’s how I made my  Brunch Pizza Casserole……Enjoy!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Cut 3 slices of leftover pizza into small pieces.

IMG_3323

Grease a 9 x 12 pan with softened butter.

IMG_3324

Arrange pizza pieces in the prepared baking pan.

IMG_3325

Layer these ingredients on top of pizza pieces;  1/3 cup sautéed red onions, 1/2 cup roasted bell peppers and 3 cloves of minced roasted garlic.

IMG_3327

IMG_3329

Add 1/4 cup grated Pecorino Romano cheese.  You can use grated parmesan cheese if you prefer.

IMG_3330

Add 1 cup of mozzarella cheese.

IMG_3334

In a measuring cup whisk together; 6 large eggs, 1 cup of whole milk, 1 teaspoon Aleppo Pepper flakes (or you can use 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes), 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese.

IMG_3331

Pour egg mixture over all the ingredients.

IMG_3336

Cover baking pan with aluminum foil. Bake in the preheated 350 degree oven for 45 minutes.

IMG_3338

After 45 minutes baking time, remove the aluminum foil and continue baking.  The cheese should be melted and look like this.

IMG_3340

Bake for another 15-20 minutes or until the eggs are set and golden brown on top.   Your casserole should look like this when it is done.

IMG_3342

Let the Brunch Pizza Casserole rest for 15 minutes before cutting. Run a sharp knife around the casserole to release the edges from your baking pan.  Cut into 8 pieces and serve with a nice green salad!

IMG_3346

Thank You GOD for this blessed day

Happy Easter everyone……….

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Brunch Quiche, Josie's Recipes, Shared Recipes, Things to Remember

Author:Josie Roed

“Many of our most cherished memories involve gathering together around the dinner table and enjoying great food. Always make time for a great homemade meal with your family and friends.”

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Brunch Pizza Casserole”

  1. LVClaudia1@aol.com
    April 6, 2015 at 10:42 am #

    How I wish my stomach wasn’t so sensitive since my colostomy surgery. My mouth waters when I read your recipes and then my brain reminds me of the consequences of eating anything that actually tastes good. OY! What’s a girl to do? Love ya Sis! Claudia

    • April 6, 2015 at 10:50 am #

      awww sis Claudia so sorry you have a sensitive stomach…we will just have to find something else for you to eat. Thanks for stopping by – take care my sister friend!

Leave a comment